We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No words can express how much we loved our stay”
Review of Bxlroom Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bxlroom Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Reviewed October 27, 2013

First of all, we highly recommend this place. This hotel is extremely well located in the city centre on a small street (it's quite hard to find the hotel).

The room: the size is very good for a couple with the necessary comfort, beautiful decoration and very clean. The bathroom size is good either (the shower and toilet are separated inside the room, which generates a lot of privacy if you are traveling with friends, for example). Even considering the street can be noisy at some nights, it isn't a problem inside the BXLROOM; the room is really quiet (and we have stayed in the first floor facing the street). Safe, wi-fi and TV available.

The breakfast: there are coffee, tea, juices, bread, cereals and yogurt. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially Mr. Fons. He made our time in Brussels better than we expected.

The location: it's within walking distance from Brussels main attractions. Also we think that the location is very safe at any time (please, open your mind and get used to alternative people).

If you get to Brussels by the train station in the city centre you can get to the hotel by walk (around 10 - 15 minutes), but if you have heavy bags, think twice as the pavement of the streets is not very friendly to the little wheels.

Tips: Try the local bars / pubs to have an amazing experience. Ask Mr. Fons for some tips. A must go is the "Delirium Café", if you love beers.

(in fact we traveled in June/12)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafaGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

I do not stay at B&B when I travel for business. I couldn't find a decent hotel in Brussels this time, so I decided to give this small place a chance, given the excellent Tripadvisor reviews. It was a success, and I have to admit that my expectations were low, so it was a positive surprise. I got a large room/small apartment in the city center, with a decent bathroom and a clean kitchen.

Pros: The price is more than reasonable for a full apartment (€125 per night, and I paid the full rate, booking in the last minute). It is well located in the city center, in the sense that you may easily walk everywhere. The staff was very helpful, well informed about practicalities, and ready to make good suggestions (if you have time to spend visiting the city; not my case). The apartment is large, and well furnished. A small terrace gives you the chance of having a drink at night, or breakfast in the morning enjoying a minuscule garden.

Cons: The area gets a bit noisy and dark at night, specially if you come back late. The flat is in a basement, and I am afraid it was not well ventilated. Not the perfect place to sleep if you suffer from asthma. The linen could be cleaner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank_Qu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We like the stay in the Bxlroom - 5 nights in the heart of the Brussels. Modern, quiete and clean room, excellent service from Fons, easy to go everywhere in the historical center. A little bit hard to find, but this is because of the streets in this part of Brussels. For breakfast there are coffee, tea, juices, bread, cereals and yogurt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrenaStankova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in BxlRooms for 4 nights and I was really surprised how much I enjoyed it! Not that I was expecting not to like it, but it was very reasonably priced. So I wasn't expecting much, but I was wrong! The room I had was great, reasonably quiet, very clean and very well decked out. They also provided juice, coffee, cereal, bread, jam, hazelnut spread, water, tea - all such a great addition to an affordable cost.

The location was good too - not far at all from the Grand Place. But then again, nothing is too far from each other in Bxl - such a compact old city!

I recommend dinner at NuetNigenough around the corner on 25 Lombard street. See reviews on TA about it. Note the no reservations policy. Great meals with Belgian beers.

Room Tip: I got a double bed, but it was actually two single bed pushed together. I kept falling into the cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeParam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great time. Location is great. Mr. fons was Great, and friendly and helpful every day we were there. On our last day he order a taxi for us, and Didn't leave us until we got on it.While we were waiting outside to the Taxi he went into the BxlRoom three time to keep calling to Taxi, because they were late. Meanwhile we had nice, and long conversation, which we were felt like we know each other for a long time.

We have booked through the mail. We definitely recommend on it!

If we ever go back to Brussels,we will definitely book here again.

Thank You So much Fons

Yossi and the Family - Israel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yosir2d2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't be much happier. Marc & Fons are great. The place is in the middle of everything. Just a few minutes walk from the central train station. Taxis from central station won't go there (but they will from Midi station), it's a bit tricky to find but ask around and people will point you in the right direction.

At night it's chaos outside since there are bars and clubs next door, but once you go in the building you can't hear a thing. super clean rooms and bathrooms, slept like a baby, soap and towels are provided. Very modern, ikea-like decorations. Free wifi, tv in rooms.

They say breakfast isn't included, but it sort of is. Everything in the kitchen/lounge is complimentary, such as cereals, yogurt, bread and juices.

I booked through booking.com but I believe if you email marc or fonz directly you might get a better rate.

I can't recommend this place enough. There are only 3 rooms I believe, so book fast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sauciehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights wish it were longer. Hotel is located to major tourist attractions. The place is halfway between a house and hotel. There are various bars and cafes nearby. Rooms are contemporary. Marc and Fonz were very helpful from the first contact via email right to our check out. There is a small common area where there are bottles of water, juices, cereals and yoghurts. The only slight problem is the bed mattress is abit of a softer side but that is easy fix. Anyway we are always out from morning exploring and only returned late evening to sleep. I will definitely book here again if we ever go back to Brussels. Keep up the good work Marc & Fonz!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchess_Smurfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#6 of 199 in Brussels
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.6 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 139 in Brussels
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bxlroom Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bxlroom Guesthouse

Address: Rue du Marche au Charbon 67, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Price Range: $112 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have converted this old former medal making workshop factory into a Loft-style Garden Suite, a Garden Room and a Panoramic Room. If you want a great nights sleep, yet want to be in the heart of Brussels, then BXLROOM is the place to be !!! BXLROOM features modern decor with industrial touches and an intimate garden. All of the accommodation at BXLROOM benefits from a flat-screen cable TV, tea/coffee facility, free WIFI, ensuite shower and toilet. BXLROOM is just 180 metres from The Manneken Pis Statue, 280 meters from Grand-Place and from there 750 meters to The Magritte Museum, BXLROOM is short pleasant walk from BRUSSEL-CENTRAAL/BRUXELLES-CENTRAL train station. Which is one stop from BRUSSEL-ZUID/BRUXELLES-MIDI International Rail Station, ( Eurostar, Thalys, ICE and TGV Terminals ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bxlroom Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing