We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atomium "monument"”
Review of Atomium

Atomium
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$70.05*
and up
Private Tour: Brussels Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #23 of 400 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Unavoidable icon of Brussels and Belgium, unique creation in the history of architecture and emblematic vestige of the World Fair in Brussels (Expo 58); the Atomium is the most popular tourist attraction of the Europe’s Capital.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Atomium "monument"”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Amazing! Given the age when it was build but also it's structure it is amazing! Great also from inside and outside!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amarys79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,032
    3,770
    2,262
    583
    235
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Finally”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have heard about this Atomium and had to wait till now to see it. I really enjoyed the experience. The staff were really helpful, it was easy to find when arriving by Metro. The visit began at the ground and we travelled by lift to level 7. The panorama was 360 degrees of views. and then the descent to the lower levels. A bit scary in the tubes accessing the levels and at times a bit dizzy as you seem to loss your balance. There was an expo on one level and it involved the use of lights, very interesting. Some of the levels were reached by walking down stairs and others had escalators but all areas were easy accessed.

When we took ourselves to the grass area in front of the Atomium there was a surprise in store for us. There was a rally of Harley Davison motorbikes - what an amazing site to see the Atomium with the added attraction of all these Harleys will remember it for a long time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great View - Little Else”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is now the third time that I have been to the Atomium. The view from the top ball is great - apart from this there is little else of much interest. There are some original pieces of memorabilia from the original Expo but inreality they have struggled to fill the place. There was an art exhibition but it seemed very amateurish. The entry fee is 11 Euro for adults so it isn't cheap. If you want the view then great but I would then go straight back to the ground floor and exit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sammytheshammy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant views of city”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I heard of this place when I was a child and really delighted that the authorities decided to refurbish it Expo no longer there but an interesting light show. Totally disorientating when inside the different globes and travelling inside the connecting tubes really make you feel strange. Outside there was a large group of Harley Davidson motorbikes gathered my what a sight. The easiest way for us to get there was by underground metro Very easy, clean and extremely efficient.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dodonthetrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I'm surprised that this isn't more of an iconic symbol, like the Eiffel Tower.i thought it was amazing. You start by going up in the lift, which takes 22 seconds to the top bubble where you get a panoramic view of the surrounding area. The lift then takes you back down where you take escalators and stairs to the different bubbles. There was a great display on how it was designed and the Expo of 1958. There was also some cool light and sound exhibitions that felt like you we're in a science fiction movie. The escalators had cool flashing lights as you go back down. The shop was a bit disappointing - no cheesy magnets but overall this place was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atomium also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Schaerbeek, Brussels
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Atomium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing