We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MIM - Musical Instruments Museum
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience MIM - Musical Instruments Museum
from $29.80
More Info
Reviews (3,746)
Filter reviews
1,708 results
Traveler rating
972
487
185
42
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
487
185
42
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor audio guide music lovers old england rooftop restaurant beautiful art nouveau building department store on display great collection several floors rainy day headphones saxophone inventor recording examples french
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,708 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This museum of musical instruments through the ages has an audio guide which plays the sounds of each instrument when selected on the guide. There is a wide variety of instruments. The old fashioned lift to the various floors is interesting in itself because it seems to call at floors in the order in which it is called without picking up passengers on the way so you never quite know when it will pick you up. However there is also a staircase. On the top floor is a restaurant with views over the city where we had an enjoyable lunch.

Thank PamdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

There is a lot to see. Buying the audio guide can be a great addition to the experience. I really wasn't expecting much but was surprised by the diversity of instruments from harmonicas and horns to electronic synthesizers with harpsichords, pianos, organs, mouth harps, and so much more in between. Plan on spending some time looking around.

Thank danakamura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow, what a stunning building from the outside, beautiful architecture. I am not normally a fan of museums, but this one appealed due to it being something different. Set out on several floors, there was a huge variety of historic instruments. The audio headphone made all those instruments come to life. For the relatively low price of around £11 per person, including audio, it was a very pleasant way to spend an hour and a half learning and seeing something unusual.

Thank lindamatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The building is amazing. And the instruments within the exibition are very diverse. We liked to be there.

Thank zyn2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place and nice restaurant on the roof
You can have a perfect tour and learn from the different instruments that placed there also u can have a nice drink and a nice sandwich or soup I do recommend family’s to go and see it all and save at list 3 hours 1.5 for the musiam and 1.5 for the restaurant- have fun

Thank Tomer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in here after reading some of the reviews and we weren’t disappointed.

Spread over a number of floors, there are just soooo many instruments I wouldn’t know where to start.

Good museum in a beautiful building.

My only tip is you definitely need the have the audio tour earpiece. Without this bit of kit you really won’t get the whole experience.

We were also recommended to try the restaurant at the top, unfortunately though the greeting wasn’t up to the Brussels hospitality we have seen over the past few days and after a somewhat unhelpful greeting we decided to leave. The food did look rather good though and the place was very busy.

Thank Bigbluehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The audio guide is a must. I’d suggest budget 2-3 hours and have a wonderful afternoon here amid the music.

Thank DenaliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hands down one of the best museums I have been to around the world. First off, it is in a architectural gem that is worth visiting on its own. Then, the museum itself is so well curated. The ability to have the audio tour where you can hear a lot of the instruments is a must do. I never knew there were so MANY instruments. Really fascinating and worth your time. You will not be sorry.

Thank gregoryl628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Any musician should visit. Some of the instruments are truly mind blowing, especially the electric machines from the 19th century. The effort that went into some of them makes one wonder why these inventors were not working on something more useful like curing cancer. The building is a wonderful example of Art Nouveau, thankfully it was saved from the wreckers ball. For architectural students, this and the Comic Strip Museum (Victor Horta) are must sees when in Brussels.

Thank jeffdelallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Would definitely recommend getting the audio guide - definitely enhanced the experience.
Nice restaurant at the top.
Food looked good but I just had a cappuccino.

Thank T6219NJkevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews