We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE MUSEUM BUT..”

MIM - Musical Instruments Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.38*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #5 of 396 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As soon as it opened at the end of the 19th century, the luxurious Old England department store earned an excellent reputation for its highly distinctive building. The entrance to the building is a jewel of the Art nouveau style while the rest is in perfect harmony with the neoclassical ensemble on the Place Royale, and just around the corner from the Grand Place and Central Station, no less! It's here in this architectural gem that the MIM took up residence in June 2000. The museum's reputation is mainly built on its extraordinary collections. With a wealth of some 7000 instruments, the MIM is currently an internationally renowned instrumental museum. Once inside, you'll embark on a true tour of the musical world. After your trip past the some 1500 pieces on exhibit, the instruments and their history will no longer hold any secrets: from viole da gamba from the Court of Brussels to the 20th century theremin, and even including the African kora! And be sure not to miss our area devoted to the instruments of Adolphe Sax. The MIM is nothing other than a place to experience music. An infrared headphone system allows each visitor to explore the thematic tours to the tune of the melodious sound of the instruments presented. Translation is no problem. Everyone knows that music is a universal language.
KKgio-Torino
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“NICE MUSEUM BUT..”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

is great to listen sound of instrument but i would appreciate to have some written infos, without buying the guide. do not go to their restaurant is a nice place for view, but hugely service and staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KKgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,759
    949
    312
    59
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning collection - audio tour worked well”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Intrigued by the stunning art nouveau (?) building on a cold day, we were pleasantly surprised to find it was only 8euros each to enter, and not mobbed.

We collected our audio gizmo - do NOT press any buttons, just leave it alone and it will work. Promise. I'm sure the lady in charge of them gets right royally fed up of fiddlers like myself who stab buttons and stop them working. However - they ought to make them more resilient, especially for kids who are probably even more prone to impatience!

We discovered a stunning collection of a vast array of musical instruments of all sorts, most displays caused the audio thingy to switch to an image of the instrument and play some of its music in your ear. A fantastic idea which keeps the quiet atmosphere of the museum, but allows everyone to listen individually.

The only criticism I'd have is that the commentary/explanatory notices were sparse - I'd have preferred more information, and there are none in English (which surprised me - but I wasn't expecting it and managed with the French ones).

Older kids, especially ones interested in music (classical/traditional mainly) will enjoy it; and there seemed to be stickers on the floor pointing at some youunger child-friendly activities/trails - but I didn't investigate.

Good value - impressively executed and thoroughly interesting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Crayfishuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Has potential, but disappointing”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Lots of interesting instruments to see. And we are big music fans. You walk around with headphones so you can hear the various sounds. It would have been great if the instruments had a placard or sign with some history, like "this guitar was owned and played by so and so," or "donated by this family", etc." Instead, you just look at the instrument, and move on. They force you to check your coat (for humidity reasons maybe?) which was unpleasant in the cold winter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisarnfuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for open minded with time”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice place to go when it's cold outside. Costs are at 5? including ear phones for the tour. The building has it's own charm with the wooden floors and the old architecture.
There are 4 exhibition rooms open for the tour where you can see a big variation of music instruments. When you step to a point of interest, affiliated music will start to play.
Take your time for this tour and be open minded for a different experience of a museum.

After walking through the museum you can go to the rooftop where is a nice and decent restaurant. With it'd panorama windows it gives a marvelous view over the intercity.

Helpful?
1 Thank ESchwen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“You have to see to belive”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I never saw that many music instruments at one place before, also lot of odd instruments I never seen or heard of before! The buildin itself is a Art Noveau masterpiece

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MIM - Musical Instruments Museum also viewed

 

Been to MIM - Musical Instruments Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing