We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amigo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amigo to your Saves list
Hotel Amigo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de l'Amigo 1-3, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 197 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just returned from staying at this hotel. It's in a great location. Our room was spacious. The noise level was low. I would not however, recommend eating at the restaurant as it is extremely
expensive, even for brunch. There was no coffee machine in the room and I had to ask for one. They brought up a kettle with instant espresso. I felt a Nespresso machine would have been a
much better set up. We had issues connecting with their wi-fi and connected with one called 'Visa' instead. I would highly recommend free tours with Sandemans, which you can book on line or
just meet up in the The Grand Place or Grote Markt, a very short walk from the hotel. Of course, a nice tip is appreciated. The staff were very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priyanka B, Front of House Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mary T,

Thank you for taking some time in putting your review on TripAdvisor!

Your feedback is very important to us to strive to reach the highest standards. We have taken note about the Restaurant prices and coffee machines in the rooms. Just for future reference certain categories of rooms do have a Coffee Machines in the room.

I am happy to see that that overall your stay was a good one and I do hope to welcome you back at the Hotel Amigo. Please do not hesitate to contact me, if there is anything I can do for you in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

Priyanka Bardoloi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    484
    94
    40
    26
See reviews for
298
905
99
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is an old jail but you'd meet guess by the rooms or the layout. We had requested a room upgrade when we booked online and pleasantly surprised when we received an upgrade to a suite when we checked in. The room is spacious with a comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. The staff is very helpful and the concierge did a great job arranging a day trip to Bruges and recommending restaurants, etc. A quick walk to the center of old Brussels this is a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToddandLisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priyanka B, Front of House Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear ToddandlisaS,

It is a pleasure to read your review on The Hotel Amigo on TripAdvisor!

It makes me feel even happier that you found our staff helpful and the concierge were able to provide you with recommendations.

Indeed, The Hotel Amigo is very well located, a foot step away from the main square and the other main places of interest.

I do hope to welcome you back at the Hotel Amigo and if there is anything I can do for your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely Yours,

Priyanka Bardoloi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Centrally located, this Brussels hotel provided style, excellent service and an amazing dinner during our single night's stay. We were en route to Bruges to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary and stayed for one night. We decided to dine in the restaurant and we're treated like royalty. Service was marvellous. As the hotel had been informed by our travel agent of our celebration, we found white wine on ice in our room, a voucher for for us to have a glass of champagne in the bar, rose petals strewn on our pillow. Such lovely touches made our short stay nonetheless memorable. Highly recommended, outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryD0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priyanka B, Front of House Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear MaryD0dd,

Thank you for this 'First Class' review!

It is wonderful to read that you had a great stay with us and that we achieved in making your anniversary special.

I have shared your reviews with the Amigo team and the team and I thank you for your stay.

I hope to welcome you in the not too distant future and in the mean time if there is anything I can do to make your future stay as special, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely Yours,

Priyanka Bardoloi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Perfect location, clean modern rooms, excellent service, awesome free breakfast, no silly extra charges for wifi, water, etc. This place was just perfect for my spouse and I for our 4 night stay in Brussels. We took day trips by train to Ghent and Brugge - just a 5 minute walk to the Central train station from the hotel. Avoid the tourist trap restaurants near the Grand Place (and the hotel). Use trip advisor or the hotel concierge to find the excellent places to eat in this cosmopolitan city.

Room Tip: Room 401 has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul52Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priyanka B, Front of House Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Paul25Atlanta,

Thank you for puting your thoughts and review of the Hotel Amigo on TripAdvisor!

It is a pleasure to read that you found our services, rooms and location perfect. Indeed, the central station is just a few minutes of a walk away which makes it a very easy access to visit other places.

You are absolutely right about the tourist traps and it best to avoid them. As you mentioned, our concierge are able to pin point all the restaurants that are a must in Brussels and will be able to guide you to any local area recommended.

We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future at the Hotel Amigo and in the mean time, if there is anything else I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely Yours,

Priyanka Bardoloi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

at check in the person was impolite, and unprofessional. I travel 6-7 times a year with my family and always stay in 5+ star hotels. I though this was one!. I made the reservation through american express which entitle me to free upgrades. I had reserved a suite (almost 600 euros a night) and when i checked in asked for the upgrade, i was told with an insulting attitude from the person in the front desk and was told of course not!!! I checked online and there was room an upgrade suite available and the next morning (around 8 am) I asked to a different person and she checked and said yes there is available room for upgrade. We already unpack and settle and were only going to stay one more night anyway. The treatment of the lady was just disrespectful and insulting. I will never stay here again, it has a great location but you can find many other hotels around here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aldo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priyanka B, Front of House Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Aldo S,

I would like to take this opportunity in thanking you for taking some of your valuable time in putting your review on TripAdvisor. Your feed back is very important to us to strive to reach the highest standards.

I sincerely regret and apologise that you were not welcomed as you should have been and that you felt disrespected and insulted which are not the Amigo standards. I assure you that strict measures will be taken to correct this.

Mr AldoS, I sincerely hope to welcome back at the hotel to show a more positive image of the Hotel Amgio.

Please feel free to contact me at pbardoloi@roccofortehotels.com if I can do anything for you in the future.

Best Regards,

Priyanka Bardoloi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

It is the second time I have stayed at the Amigo, last time was more than 3 years ago. The hotel has not changed it still has this timeless elegance and a perfect service. The location is the best in town and therefore I can only recommend this jewel in the heart of Brussels.
Thank you for all the staff for making our Week-End even more special.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priyanka B, Front of House Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Paul-Eric L,

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor on the Hotel Amigo and thank you for it.

I am glad you found the hotel at the as the same standards as your first stay with us.

The Amigo team and I look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future and if I can make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely Yours,


Priyanka Bardoloi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This is hotel has the best location, food, rooms, cleanliness and service !!!
Since we arrived there has been only wonderful experiences in every way, the concierges makes everything they can to get tours, rides, tickets and reservations !
Highly recommend this place to stay in Brussels!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank erastis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priyanka B, Front of House Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Redunca,

Un grand merci pour votre commentaire sur TripAdvisor !

Nous sommes heureux d'entendre que vous avez trouvé que l’hôtel était confortable, beau, plein de qualités and le personnel est accueillant et serviable.

En ce qui concerne notre tarif, nous avons beaucoup des promotions et des tarifs très compétitifs sur notre site Rocco Forte Hotels.

En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir très bientôt, je vous transmets nos plus sincères salutations de la part de toute l'équipe de l'Hôtel Amigo!

Priyanka Bardoloi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 17 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#4 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 1,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#9 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#14 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#11 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#10 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo

Property: Hotel Amigo
Address: Rue de l'Amigo 1-3, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#9 Business Hotel in Brussels
#22 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amigo 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels is delighted to introduce the Hotel Amigo, superbly located in the very heart of Brussels, adjacent to one of the most beautiful squares in Europe, Grand Place, close to Brussels' financial district and within easy walking distance of the antiques district of Le Sablon, Hotel Amigo provides a stylish and central base from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Amigo
Forte Hotel Brussels
Forte Brussels
Brussels Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing