We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This time I appreciated all the class, location and quality both of the hotel and the staff”
Review of Hotel Amigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amigo
Ranked #3 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level Contributor
906 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“This time I appreciated all the class, location and quality both of the hotel and the staff”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Hotel is just around the corner of the grand place, as for the lobby and the rooms thsi time showed all the "class" I would expect. Actually I should thank who put me on the 6th floor in an odd numbered room (I was in 607) because the view of the bell tower of the grand place is absolutely fantastic, and in the evening it's a shame to close the courtains because the continously changing lights that illuminate it make you dream. The same view is also from the bathroom!
The staff is a little rigid (speaking with the concierge doesn't makes you feel particularly at ease) but extremely professional and the knowledge that they have of the city is to be used.
Strangely the only channel that was not functioning on the TV was the national Italian channel: RAI, but the staff was aware.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5 or 6th floor odds numbers: they have a view on the bell tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilardoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Gilardoni,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at Hotel Amigo.
We are very pleased to read that you liked your room with view on the city hall and our service.
My colleagues and I are looking forward to welcome you back at Hotel Amigo.

Kind regards,
Caroline Van gestel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    525
    103
    43
    30
See reviews for
336
991
115
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Amigo hotel is flawless. Best location in Brussels, from the minute you walk in you are at your best. Spacious room, great concierge and reception service. Beautifully designed with impressive paintings Loved every minute of it.
Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Odibro,

Thank you for your nice words and very positive comment. We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed our central location, the services of our staff and your room. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Caroline Van gestel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As most have said, location is perfect. next to Grand Place, literally. Nice reception area, bar and staff were lovely. Breakfast was quite nice, and included in our AMEX rate. Included a standard buffet and a menu. Gym was modern and decently equipped. They provided towels, fruit, water, headphones, all nice touches. Room was on the 2nd (3rd to Americans) floor. Overlooked the street, and did not notice a noise problem at all. Bed was quite comfortable, and the shower was easily one of the strongest in Europe I have encountered, was excellent. One complaint, which I am sure others have noted as well, the wi-fi was quite expensive which was bad enough, but no wi-fi was offered in the common areas, like the bar. Would probably have spent more time in the lounge/bar if that was offered, and it just seems to be behind the times, as we stayed at 6 hotels on this trip and this was the only one to charge for it. Otherwise, I would certainly recommend the hotel. Was quite a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear CJFromNYC

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive comment on trip advisor. We took also note of your internet experience and we will report this to our head office in order to evolve to a positive solution in the near future.

Kind regards

Caroline Van Gestel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was in this hotel 2 days in the end of June during my trip with wife and son.I have booked this hotel mainly because of its being member of LHW and i have some preference there.
The location -the very center of tourist area ,50 m from the town hall and 100 m from pis monument .The are no luxe hotels closer.About the noise, what had been mentioned in some previous reviews-you can choose yourself what to have:city hall or street view with noise of tourist or courtyard view
like i had, absolutely quite .I was upgraded to executive room ,very modern room ,rather big with a bathroom about 10 square meters.Very comfortable 2 meters long king bed with a choice of pillows.The hall is not very chic ,but it is not so necessary there,it is not for evening cocktails .The wi-fi is free for LHW members and rather expensive for others.
Breakfast -very good ,buffet plus menu, where you can order from some eggs to brussels waffles.
For the price you paid for the hotel -it is very good.
To dine better somewhere else ,i did not like local restaurant despite of reasonable price.
Two bottles of still and sparkling water in the evening ,every time clean room ,perfect concierge and door bell boys attitude.

Room Tip: For quiet room -take courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the Amigo Hotel. The location was perfect - a block from the Grand Place and great restaurants. Staff was exceptional - always referred to us by name. Would definitely recommend staying here

Room Tip: You may want a room that does not overlook the Grand Place on the weekends . May get a bit loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMRPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear GMRPennsylvania,

What a delight to read that you had a memorable time with us.

My colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kindest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance from the grand place, manneken pis, and all major shopping areas. Great service and a very good breakfast.
Yes it can get a little bit noisy during weekends but really not that much . Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. I recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of great sites, shopping and restaurants. The concierge here booked a walking tour for us with Christos, who was exceptional. The concierge also made dinner reservations at Lola's( amazing), and assisted us with some changes in travel arrangements. All the service personal were top notch and spoke English which is helpful to Americans. The rooms are good sized, quiet, with great amenities and a comfortable bed. I highly recommend this hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: A view of the town hall steeple is beautiful as it is lit at night. 5th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#17 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo

Property: Hotel Amigo
Address: Rue de l'Amigo 1-3, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#9 Business Hotel in Brussels
#22 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amigo 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels is delighted to introduce the Hotel Amigo, superbly located in the very heart of Brussels, adjacent to one of the most beautiful squares in Europe, Grand Place, close to Brussels' financial district and within easy walking distance of the antiques district of Le Sablon, Hotel Amigo provides a stylish and central base from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Amigo
Forte Hotel Brussels
Forte Brussels
Brussels Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing