We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time at Hotel Amigo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amigo
Ranked #3 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First Time at Hotel Amigo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I recently went for a short trip, primarily to London. We did a short two day trip from London to Brussels having never been to the city before. I did my research and came up with this property as the place to stay. I want to simply say that the location and the staff could not have been better. Gregory Montens, the desk manager, made certain that even though our trip was a short one, it would be a memorable one and he did a great job in following through. From direction assistance to recomendations for places to see and eat he and the staff were fantastic. The rooom we had was also great, clean, spacious and frankly very comfortable. I am planning a return trip in May and if we get to Brussels this will be the hotel we will stay at without hesitation.

Room Tip: A higher room for us worked best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Michael G.,

We are delighted that you had a memorable experience with us at the Amigo Brussels.

Gregory is deeply appreciative of your praise.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in May!

Kindest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    517
    103
    43
    29
See reviews for
333
978
112
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Hotel Amigo more than 5 times now, for up to 2 weeks at a time, and the hotel never disappoints. The rooms are consistently cosy and comfortable, and the location of the hotel could not be better. But the main draw is the staff: highly professional and very friendly. Definitely the best choice when staying in Brussels!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I spent a week in March at The Amigo and had a wonderful experience. My flight was quite early but I was able to get to my room after only a few minutes which was great. I can't say enough about the concierge staff.They helped me plan three side trips,arranged transportation to and from the airport and were always pleasant and knowledgeable about what to see and do.There is a very nice exercise room that I used daily, always as the only occupant. As a solo female traveler I really appreciated the staff at the door and always felt safe coming and going from the hotel. Great location. Hotel very quiet but some noise from the street on the weekend. Comfortable room. Nice shower. My only complaint is that free Internet is only available if you book directly with the hotel not your travel agent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear nab1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor your recent experience at the Amigo Brussels.

It is a pleasure to read your kind feedback and share this with my colleagues who were of service to you. Your praise is much appreciated by the Concierge Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

There is about one square-kilometre in the whole of Brussels which is architecturally and culturally interesting, and this hotel is superbly located right in the middle of it. The Amigo is an old but well modernised hotel with all the facilities you would expect of a 4-5 star property. The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable, the linen sparkling and the staff are enthusiastic and professional.

The breakfast was good quality but overpriced, and three times during my stay I experienced quite significant lapses in service - once being kept waiting 10 minutes for a takeaway filter coffee; and two other times I was served curdled milk. These rather small lapses were the only disappointment in an otherwise excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Gasman,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that, overall, you had an enjoyable stay and have passed on your comments regarding the delays at the Restaurant to our Food & Beverage Manager; please receive my apologies for this incident.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Amigo Brussels.

Eric Falcucci
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Overall, I can't see why you would stay anywhere because this is a fine hotel that puts you in the the center of Brussels culture. My only critique would be is that they cater to more of a business crowd but besides that this is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickbcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable experience with us at the Amigo Brussels.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Falcucci
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here one night in March for a quick trip through Belgium. It is located directly behind Grand Place. Perfect tourist location. The lobby is small but very nice and great service (doormen in tophats and gloves). The room was quite nice; a good size with a very large bathroom (although I'm not fond of bathtub/shower combos, it was a great shower with amazing water pressure). The bar in the hotel is also quite nice with pretty good service. We did not eat in the restaurant but heard others speak highly of it. Although the location is great, there is not much chance of a room with a decent view. The buildings around are all bigger so you will be looking at the sides of other buildings. Still, you shouldn't be spending your time in the room anyway. It's a short walk to Mannequin Pis and for an authentic pub, try the Mannequin Pis pub across from the statue. Great selection of beers in a dark, wooden pub with a roaring fire.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famishedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Great location. The room was lovely, very clean. Nicely decorated, the bed was a good size and very comfortable. BUT very noisy as we overlooked the road which is cobbled and seemed to echo all the sounds of passing cars. Also we heard every conversation of passing people. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. There wasn't tea and coffee facilities in the room. So we had to order coffee with room service which was ok and came quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the back of the Grand Place or Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read that you had a memorable stay with us.

Because of our location in the heart of Brussels, we are exposed to noise disturbances. I recommend on a future visit inner-view rooms which are silent.

All my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you again at the Amigo Brussels.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#15 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo

Property: Hotel Amigo
Address: Rue de l'Amigo 1-3, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#9 Business Hotel in Brussels
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#22 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amigo 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels is delighted to introduce the Hotel Amigo, superbly located in the very heart of Brussels, adjacent to one of the most beautiful squares in Europe, Grand Place, close to Brussels' financial district and within easy walking distance of the antiques district of Le Sablon, Hotel Amigo provides a stylish and central base from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Amigo
Forte Hotel Brussels
Forte Brussels
Brussels Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing