We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amigo is the only Luxury friend in Brussels”
Review of Hotel Amigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Amigo
Ranked #3 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amigo is the only Luxury friend in Brussels”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have been coming for 4 years on business trips to this little luxury hotel in Brussels - has never failed me - location in the middle of the centre close to grand place very convenient. Rooms are not big but you are not in Brussels to sit in your room. Service, concierge desk, bar and restaurant are very good - its for me home away from home but for tourists there is NO better spot in Brussels !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarManto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,618
    535
    103
    44
    31
See reviews for
355
1,025
120
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Amigo for four nights with our teenage sons over the winter break. We could not have been in a better location, which was right near the Grand Platz. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. When we checked in they informed us that because we were with teens, they put us in the Tin-tin rooms. The decor struck the right balance of fun and sophistication. The breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful. The staff was courteous and friendly. We were also able to take advantage of a special two rooms for the price of one deal that was offered at the time, making it a very affordable stay in a lovely, well located property. Small touches like free bottled water bedside were appreciated. My only surprise was that in the city of chocolate, there is no chocolate on the pillows at turn down service.

Room Tip: Love the Tintin rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

location was spot on. rooms were elagant and very good quality, although my lightbulb went out in the bathroom, but the hotel had this problem fixed straight away (wasnt their fault the bulb went out!) however it is their fault to charge so much for the internet. the breakfast in my opinion was avaerage but i had a room and breakfast package so i was forced to eat here each morning. next time i would stay, but would take breakfast in a local cafe instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucket_list_patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and the comfort of our rooms.

I am excited to share with you that we have revamped the breakfast experience since then and I trust it will be as appealing to you as it has been thus far to other guests on a future visit.

In regards to the Wi-Fi, the Management is currently assessing on how to respond positively in the near future to the guests’ expectations of a complimentary Wi-Fi.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Falcucci
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is at a great central location and only a minute walk from the Grand Place and it is next to the police station.

We visited the Christmas light shows in the Grand Place and Christmas market nearby which was fantastic.

The rooms and facilities were good except for free wifi which they didn't
provide so we went to the local Mc Donald's for the free wifi and coffee.

Breakfast was lovely which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Rooms at high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Gorgeous lobby and relatively attractive rooms, but there are real problems with this hotel. The outrageous €20-a-day Internet charge is simply robbery; who charges for internet anymore? Breakfast buffet was ample, but nothing extraordinary - at about €30 per person per night, which is nearly $50. Excuse me? I've have much better breakfasts included with room or at $10 per person per night. Biggest problem is simply poor management and a general lack of communication within the staff: housekeeping showed up at 9 am the day we planned to check out (why?); repeatedly we had to explain that certain costs had been included in our reservation, which was made with a group; some members of the group received some services included, others received different ones. And staff was, by turns, either annoyingly obsequious or simply arrogant, arguing with guests and failing entirely to apologize when it was ultimately shown that they were mistaken.

Oh, and "king sized bed" are not king-sized beds. They're two mattresses shoved together in a king-sized frame. Woe to the one who lands in the middle all night long!

On the up side: the hotel could not be better located. The lobby truly is beautiful, and the concierge efficient. Essentially, this has all the potential to be an excellent hotel; but it either needs new management or a serious re-thinking of its pricing policies and the orchestration of its staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uchti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Uchti,

Thank you for relating your recent experience at The Amigo Brussels.

While I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient location and décor, I am very disappointed to learn that the overall Staff Members’ attitude was far below from the high expectations we set to ourselves and regularly achieve; this is definitely not the manner Hotel Amigo Brussels wants to portray itself.

I relate to your comment on the Wi-Fi and, while we are carefully evaluating on how to positively evolve this service, we do offer complimentary internet as well as full printing at our Business Centre.

For the breakfast pricing, while I know it is in line with our competitors, I have instructed our Director of Food and Beverage operations to undertake a survey. On a same note, I have also instructed our Executive Housekeeper to follow thru on your comment regarding the disruptive entry of the maid and to design a project about the very few king rooms that feature two mattresses.

Dear Uchti, you will find below my contact details and I propose you make contact with me in order to see how I can mend this regrettable situation.

Eric Falcucci
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I felt like I paid way too much for what I got. The suite was nice but definitely not worth the price.
Our breakfast was included but because the restaurant was full we had it at the bar... where there was not much to eat to be honest.
I did not find the staff particularly welcoming either.
I also have a problem in general with hotels that make you pay for wi-fi... it feels like extortion!
The location is great though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandolliou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sandolliou,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Amigo Brussels and taking the time to share your impressions.

While I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, I am disappointed to read that the suite, the breakfast experience at the Bar and the staff attitude were not up to your satisfaction.

Our Director of Food and Beverage Operations is currently assessing a better way to handle congestion during the breakfast service and to deliver an equally satisfactory breakfast experience at the Amigo Bar.

We pride ourselves on delivering a caring service and your experience did not reflect that; please accept my sincere apologies and your appreciation has been shared with our Managers to ensure a follow-up.

I relate to your comment on the Wi-Fi and, while we are carefully evaluating on how to positively evolve this service, we do offer complimentary internet as well as full printing at our Business Centre.

I hope we will have an opportunity to recover the loss good will on a future visit.

Yours truly,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
efalcucci@roccofortehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here over Easter, and was not disappointed, from the chauffeur who collected us from the train station to the concierge when we arrived we were made welcome.

The rooms were well appointed, they can be noisy but would expect this being right in the centre of the city.

Breakfasts were very good and set you up for the day.

The bar area was relaxing and a great place to unwind after a days sightseeing,

We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel its quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear StuartB1962,

I am so pleased to hear that you found our guest rooms well appointed and that you were able to take advantage of our centrally located property.

Indeed, Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo offers a wide array of rooms and those facing the inner courtyard are less prone to noise.

Thank you for writing to us and I look forward to welcoming you back at The Amigo.

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
1,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 199 in Brussels
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 199 in Brussels
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo

Property: Hotel Amigo
Address: Rue de l'Amigo 1-3, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#9 Business Hotel in Brussels
#22 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amigo 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels is delighted to introduce the Hotel Amigo, superbly located in the very heart of Brussels, adjacent to one of the most beautiful squares in Europe, Grand Place, close to Brussels' financial district and within easy walking distance of the antiques district of Le Sablon, Hotel Amigo provides a stylish and central base from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Amigo
Forte Hotel Brussels
Forte Brussels
Brussels Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing