We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wee man on the wall”
Review of Manneken Pis

Manneken Pis
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.47*
and up
Private Tour: Brussels Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #49 of 396 things to do in Brussels
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Nicknamed "Brussel's Oldest Citizen," this bronze statue of a little boy and a fountain was designed by Jerome Duquesnoy in 1619, and has become a familiar (and irreverent) symbol of the city.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wee man on the wall”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had seen the little boy on the wall a few times before, was in Brussels this week and took my good friend to see him, I can understand some people saying it is small and a waste of time, however for me it is fun, I was told the story a few years back of the statue and why it is there - would be interesting to know if people who criticise it know its origins and why its there ???

Sure its small and crowds gather around and yes the tourist trade make a fortune on it, but you are not made to buy things and do not pay to see it, like you do in some countries for other similar monuments....

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,388
    2,296
    4,334
    1,624
    660
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“are you kidding me!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

really, this is Brussells equivelent to the Eifel tower, big ben, empire stae building etc.

They dress this clown up -- really there are nothing but souveriers to this silly statue

now the waffles are worth the trip but this thing which draws hundreds of duped tourists

I guess if you build it they will come

now the guy playing vincent van ghoh as you walk toward the pis man is very nasty don't stand in front of him too long

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TROOPER50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Level Contributor
210 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Too hyped a monument”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had bit of a struggle looking for it and was taken a bit back by it! Very close to the Grand Place but its easy to miss! I found it disappointing!

Its so small and insignificant the effort and the hunting wasn’t really worth it. However area around it is great. There are lovely waffle shops and Belgium chocolate stores and ice cream shops and the atmosphere is electric!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank anuroopabanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Samll and in a little corner. Lower your expectations....

Helpful?
Thank Rccccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Most underwhelming icon ever”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Well we went to see what all the fuss was about--and failed to see what all the fuss was about. It's not even part of a beautiful square or fountain or park. It's like someone's pissing lawn ornament sitting in a corner. No outfit and not pissing potable beer (automatically launching it to at least a four star rating) or milk when we went. BOOOOOOOOORING.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wskungfuclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manneken Pis also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Manneken Pis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing