We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and beer but horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Leffe

Cafe Leffe
Ranked #2,812 of 3,521 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and beer but horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The food that we all received was excellent as well as the Leffe beers on tap, unfortunately it could not make up for the terrible service. We had to ask for a bread basket 3 times yet we still did not receive any bread by the end of the dinner. We asked for tap water only to be told that they did not serve tap water and brought us a 5 euro water bottle. Five minutes later some locals sat at a table next to ours and the server came over and talked to them for 10 minutes while forgetting that any other tables existed. The server then brought tap water for their table and all of a sudden they served tap water, but only for the locals. One thing I can not stand is discrimination.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    99
    97
    98
    143
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“industrial brasserie!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Too many tables, overcroweded and slow service. Not up to the reputation of epicurian Brussels!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ParisEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Drinks on the terrace are enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I returned there after 4 years. The first time, after an accident on their stairs, my jeans broke so it was too embarassing to go back! :)

But I have to notice the absolute lack of change: the terrace is nice and so is the waitress. The French fries looked yummy! But both salads we ordered were average. Nothing justified the price of what seemed to be a bunch of ingredients taken out of a can and served on fresh lettuce!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Four of us attempted to have lunch. Drinks were served quickly and order taken promptly, however after that we waited for an hour during which all waitress could offer is "it's not my fault". Put money for the drinks on the table and left without ever seeing our food. I also must say that restaurant is pretty expensive (18 euro for a hamburger) and should have much better service, even by european standards.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A lovely place to spend an evening - amazing food & beer, great location, excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We ate dinner here on Tuesday & Wednesday night this week. The cafe was pretty quiet on both evenings, and we had the same waitress on both nights who looked after us well - balancing the time to come get orders and clear up with giving us space to talk... This seems to be the Belgian way, if you want something extra in particular then wander up to the bar and ask!

Beer, as you'd expect from a Leffe brand bar was excellent, especially the Leffe printemps and Belle-vue kriek (cherry beer).

Food choices were limited to about 20 options from a brasserie menu (including English translation), but - my goodness - can those boys in kitchen cook?! We had a faultless steak, the local speciality 'waterzooi' and a lovely duck dish, all sensible portions at a reasonable price for the area.

All in all, I can't vouch for the lunch menu or service, but on the evidence of a couple of evenings, you're sure of a great dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Leffe also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Cafe Leffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing