We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Fin de Siecle

Fin de Siecle
Ranked #23 of 3,620 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: No telephone. No reservations. No credit cards. Simple place, simple food.
Qrendi, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fin de Siecle has become one of my favourite eating places in Brussels. The food is good and the portions are abundant to say the least. It can get a bit crowded but hey that adds to the atmosphere of this restaurant. Menu is displayed on a big blackboard behind the bar and it seems to change regularly. Service is good and food prices are reasonable compared to the portions and quality of food. One thing is that you only can pay in cash, so make sure you take paper money with you. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncanborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,846
    1,466
    264
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting Belgian Dishes”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Have you ever had an endive stuffed with pork, wrapped in ham, and stewed in a beef stock and onion-based sauce? Well, I hadn't until we came here, and it was delicious (chicons farcis on the menu).

The staff here is a very friendly bunch, and it's a really fun and lively atmosphere. Nice beer selection. Prices are very reasonable, too.

This is a five minute walk from the Grand Place, and you can rest assured that the food is ten times better than what you're likely to find near there. In fact, this entire area near St. Catherine's is really cool.

This place is well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoomedXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fin de siècle is one of my favorite restaurants in Brussels. The menu combines traditional Belgian food (jambonneau, stoemp) and international cuisine (Irish steak, tandoori chicken, etc.). I definitely come here for the Belgian dishes as they are really good and prices are reasonable. They have a good selection of beers and a good and friendly service (still, take into account that you are in Belgium). The place is always crowded thus you should be prepared to wait for a little bit. Bring cash as they do not accept credit cards. They open until late which is definitely a plus. The place is close to the grand place and to st. gery where you might consider having a drink after your dinner at Fin de Siècle.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fiala819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in Belgium”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

First night and favorite dinner in Belgium. Menu on blackboard. My son had rabbit and I had lamb. Both were excellent. Waiter was friendly. It was very crowded but felt so friendly. We may go back again on our our last night here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The worst service of my life. Very unfriendly waiters. A loooong wait, in a very noisy crowd to eat really bad. We really didn't understand why is high rated on tripadvisor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mila_k250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fin de Siecle also viewed

 

Been to Fin de Siecle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing