We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, great food and bustling atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fin de Siecle

Fin de Siecle
Ranked #24 of 3,522 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: No telephone. No reservations. No credit cards. Simple place, simple food.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic, great food and bustling atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

If looking for traditional food, good value and great atmosphere you won't be disappointed. I had the beef stew which was gorgeous, a friend had steak which was one of the most tender pieces of meat we have had in years and another had the pork knuckle, be prepared to be very full! The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would visit this restaurant again if in Brussels and it is now on my favorites list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,733
    1,399
    249
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Be
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a waste!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I recently visited this restaurant, and were shocked at the level of poor service. After waiting for a server to acknowledge us for several minutes, we were finally greeted by an unfriendly waiter who barely gave us enough time to finish placing our order. We practically had to beg for his attention to place our drink order after he rushed off, and was then absent for the rest of the meal. The food was average at best. There are much better places to spend your time and money in Brussels. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyiv
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food,kindly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very tasty food and realy kindly staff!Not far from Grand Place.A lot of people are there so you can wait a 10 minutes to recieve you table

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iryna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Forget the 1 star folks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

As an international airline pilot who has flown to every continent and spent a career bidding food as my number one reason to go to a city I have to say that this is one of the best dining experience you can have anywhere. Not only is the food excellent and varied, the staff is committed to bring you a great dinning experience. Yes, there is often a wait to get in, but the wait is usually much shorter than you are told. I have taken dozens of co-workers there and all have raved about the experience. The atmosphere is casual and very friendly. Don't be surprised if you spend part of your time there enjoying conversation with fellow diners. I have gone there in all seasons...warm weather will yield you the chance to dine outside and watch the locals strolling by. Go and expect your expectations to be exceeded!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Captain_Bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Brussels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I was really surprised to read the review by batons cedar because I have never known this restaurant to even answer the phone, let alone take reservations. There is another restaurant in Brussels calling itself Fin de Siecle - make sure you aren't mixing them up!

Anyway, this place specializes in traditional Belgian fare done perfectly. I highly recommend the carbonnade, lapin, jambonneau, and stoemp. The lamb dishes are quite good, but less successful than these others. If you get wine, stick to the house wine.

The place fills quickly and, as I said, does not take reservations. If you want to be seated quickly, get there between 6 and 7. This is especially important in summer, when it gets really hot indoors and you want a seat on the sidewalk. Otherwise, expect to wait a little while. Also, the restaurant has no signage, no menu in the window, and no other indication that it exists. The address listed here is accurate - just show up and if it's open, it's open.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sneeuwfuif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fin de Siecle also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Fin de Siecle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing