We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“although not so popular i really liked this museum, original!”

Museum of the National Bank of Belgium
Ranked #184 of 393 things to do in Brussels
Attraction details
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
343 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“although not so popular i really liked this museum, original!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

easy to find, near the center of the city, this museum tells the history of the bank of belgium and everything you need to know about money and the EU currency - euro. although this museum might take some time there are a lot of interesting things/facts presented in an original way. i recommend this place, you will discover and unique museum

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank deired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Best Bank Museum Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Well this is a closely guarded secret - it wasn't even mentioned in my guilde book - but there it is, just round the corner from the Cathedral. It is housed in the original National Bank building and not only traces the history of Belgian banking including an interesting section on how they tried to save their gold reserves from the Nazis, but also a general history of notes and coins and (unfortunately) a few rooms dedicated to the wonders of the ECB and the Euro. Nevertheless very good indeed - and free if you go at the weekend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
277 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Very interesting. Guided visits in English.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

This museum is quite recent (30 years old) and was renewed 10 years ago.
It produces an impressive quantity of coins, bank notes, documents and machines retracing the history of money in general and in Belgium in particular.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_R_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

A fantastic little museum, right next door to the cathedral. Very informative, and well worth a visit!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MattC313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

This great little museum is centrally situated just down the side of the cathedral. I took my 12 yr old son - we were the only people in it! Cost 5 euros to get in. Lots of interactive stuff in English to explain the history of the bank and the Euro. The building is the original bank building and you can access plenty of historic rooms. Takes about an hour or so to do and great for children.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the National Bank of Belgium also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the National Bank of Belgium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing