We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design, small rooms, nice beds, good location.”
Review of Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Hotel
Ranked #75 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great design, small rooms, nice beds, good location.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed one night on business in June 2013. Room 106.
Don't be put off by the backstreet nature of the outside street. Urban regeneration in progress: indeed the church on the other side of the road was holding a PR event for a cosmetic company Hotel is a few minutes from NaamsePoort/Porte de Namur metro station. Good location for the "European" institutions and for walk down into the centre.
Great design: Carlos Florin the architect. White all over, with blue highlights including a striking blue wooden water cascade through the foyer and up through the atrium. Artworks scattered all over the hotel.
But you don't come to a hotel for artworks!
Reception staff were invariably helpful.
Room was on first floor, next to the lift looking over the street and next to the external HOTEL neon sign. Normally not a promising start but none of these interfered with the stay.
Room was smallish but OK for short stay. Bit cramped if there were two: no spare space to walk around bed for example. Little space if you have a large suitcase. Small bench table and workchair. Two single beds; excellent mattresses, clean linen. Room was clean. Wi-fi was free and strong signal. TV showed wide range of channels from across Europe. So far so good.
There are very effective blinds operated from a switch on the wall. Reading lights over the bed.

One niggle: the wardrobe is only suitable for shirts/jacket; it does not allow you to hang a raincoat.

Bathroom shows design: a wet room, walk in shower, good fittings, reasonable towels (bit on the thin side). But a howler. I really do not think a hotel of this design should have a hose-pipe hair dryer. I really hate them.
Breakfast in the basement room was fine: adequate choice of breads, meats, cheese, etc and usual warm stuff.
So overall it's reasonable but with that hairdryer!

Room Tip: There are internal rooms.. overlooking the atrium. which might be quieter. The corridor outside my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgreenslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    247
    67
    13
    3
See reviews for
51
99
28
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a good reasonably-priced hotel, close to the old heart of Brussels (what is left of it). Things to recommend it include nice clean rooms with comfortable beds, bright modern furnishings, and extremely helpful reception staff. It is extremely quiet as all the rooms I have ever stayed in open onto inner spaces - combined with the light-omitting electric shutters this makes for perfect sleeping conditions even in the height of summer.

It even now has a tiny gym, with a static bicycle, cross trainer and jogging machine, plus two vibrating plate devices. In the six times I used it (at 6 am), I had it to myself on five occasions.

Indeed it's so good that it really ought to be seen as a budget boutique hotel. However for me it just misses it because of many little things like:

o the trolley out of a self-service restaurant that is wheeled around at breakfast by staff clearing tables that comes complete with paint-spattered tub that used to hold emulsion paint and is now the rubbish receptacle;

o having to unblock my own shower drain of a slimy ball of hair because the engineer promised when I reported an overflowing shower had not come to fix it by the following day (and I wanted a shower);

o a serious fault in the Wi-Fi/Internet access that took four days to get fixed;

o after I ate the speculoos biscuits provided with the make-it-yourself tea/coffee/chocolate on the second day, they were not replaced again, which struck me as petty.
.
On the flip side, the hotel accommodated my wife for one night of my seven night stay without any problem, extra coat hangers came within minutes of asking for them and excellent dining recommendations (see below) were provided by the receptionists.

I have stayed at this hotel many times and I do like it - this is the first time I have stayed for more than one night though, so do please read the above in that light.

Room Tip: Here are some tips for good dining in the area: You can do much better than the line of restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed here in June for 3 nights. Worked out very well for a family suite - there were 2 separate rooms that connected at the hallway to make 1 large room with hallway. So my kids had their own bed area, TV, and bathroom. We had rooms 313 & 314 but connected it was 315.

One of the bathrooms had a shower while the other just had a tub with a handheld shower head which could be difficult to use.

The beds only had duvets & it was hard to keep the room the right temp - usually it was too cold. It was nice that all the windows had a roll-down metal shade for complete black-out shades

Breakfast was basic but good. Convenient to be inside hotel. 2 of the 3 employees in the hotel were quite helpful. There are many nearby restaurants and a laundromat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewlsplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Clean, tidy, courteous staff, good location. Free WiFi in rooms. Very hard to complain about anything. Breakfast was basic but good. The entire hotel is permeated inside and out by a blue wooden sculpture of water - postcards of it are available from reception.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed only for one night, but it was enough to be quite disappointed. One of the bedding was covered in human hairs and the pillow had some strange looking stains. Luckily it was a twin room with single occupancy so I was able to switch to a second bed which was somewhat cleaner. The rest of the room was OK. The room is advertized as soundproof, but there is an inherent noise from the room itself. The air conditioning hums unpleasantly and after (if) you manage to silence it down you will star noticing a buzzard-like sound of the electrical cabinet from inside the closet. I'm sure there are people who will find this above the tolerance threshold.

The WiFi Internet in my room worked sporadically and there were frequent unavailability interruptions. However, it worked perfectly in the lobby and the meeting room. The business corner is actually a part of a corridor without a chair or any privacy. Kind of a hurry up and off you go treatment.

The breakfast was pretty basic, but satisfying. The minibar in the room is empty and you have to visit a wending machine in the lobby to get anything like e.g. a bottle of water. The staff seemed very helpful and pleasing. The hotel is located some 25 min walk from the Brussels historic centre and 5 min walk from the metro. But be aware of the Brussels pavements which require quite comfortable shoes.

For me, the overall quality/price ratio of this hotel is very low, so I do not recommend it and I don't think I will ever be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hateshabbyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capucine C, Receptionist at Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment.

We apologize for the problems you came across during your stay.
The cleanliness of the room is something very important to us and we will take good note of your comment to improve that point.

Regarding the wifi problems you had, there has been a lot of change recently.
Indeed, the wifi installation has all been replaced this summer for stronger equipment.
We are sorry if it wasn't powerfull enough when you stayed.

The business corner is normally available, as well as the free printer except if other customers are using it and a chair is also typically staying there all the time but we could have lended you another one easily if needed.

There is a mini fridge in the room but no mini bar. The aim is for you to be able to keep things warm if you want and to be able to buy drinks at the reception.

Once more, we apologize if you felt your stay was not enjoyable and we will be happy help you change your mind on another occasion.

Best regards,
Aqua Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Aqua hotel last week. The location is terrific. You can walk to the Grand Place in about 10 minutes and there are loads of cafe's and restaurants on the surrounding streets. I stayed in a small room but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathrooms are all tile and good size. I did take a look at the exercise room that is stuffed down in the basement and was not impressed. They have a treadmill or two and one or two antique machines in there but nothing else. My only other knock on the hotel was that the Wi-Fi connection seemed to struggle a bit but it is free Wi-Fi so you can't complain too much. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Lastly, they do have electric window shades that allow you to completely darken the room from outside light. Nice feature if you are struggling to sleep.....although I wouldn't recommend using these shades if you have to get up in the morning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

What do you expect for a weekend trip?
- a fair weekend deal for a hotel in the city,
- well connected (public transport),
- preferable a bit stylish interior,
- a reasonable continental breakfast and a good mattress...

especially the mattress is gorgeous, never had such a great one before. even buying this for home..

so all in all: a good deal for a weekend trip, highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O_M_Gerstberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chambord
Hotel Chambord
#116 of 199 in Brussels
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 16 in Ixelles
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintage Hotel Brussels
Vintage Hotel Brussels
#1 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoom Hotel Brussels
Zoom Hotel Brussels
#86 of 199 in Brussels
200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Housingbrussels
Housingbrussels
#1 of 8 in Schaerbeek
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Property: Aqua Hotel
Address: Rue de Stassart 43, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aqua Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Hotel is located in the Toison d'Or-Louise area (chic and trendy area, ideal for shopping), very close from the Egmont Palace, the Mont des Arts and the Royal Place where all the major museums are. Camille Lemonier Museum is also very close by. The Hotel features a fitness room openes 24/7 for which the access is free for the hotel's guests. Wifi is free in the whole hotel and the rooms have ethernet cable slots. Feel free to contact the reception in order to book the Meeting Room and organize your meetings in a design and warm atmosphere. The rooms all feature a little fridge to store your tasty souvenirs, tea and coffee facilities and air conditionning. The majority of our rooms are decorated with an original painting! We will be looking forward to making you comfortable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing