We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but horrible street”
Review of Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Hotel
Ranked #86 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

From the airport you can get to the hotel by bus No 12 to Luxembourg and then you can walk or go 2 stops by another bus. The hotel is situated near quite busy street, but the street itself where the hotel is, looks dirty and at night a bit dangerous. The receptionist was very nice, smiling and willing to help me with everything. My room was in the -1 floor with view in some courtyard, I had to go a while through the hall, which was very narrow (as well as the staircase). The room equipment was standard, very nice was the electric kettle and tea, coffee and chocolate. My room didn't have a bathtub, just a shower. The breakfast was very good, wide choice of different food, fresh hot croissants, the only thing that bothered me was that the waitress asks you if you want coffee ot tea, you have to choose and can't have both (maybe you can if you ask afterwards, but I didn't have so much time). You can catch the wifi only in the lobby (not in my room), but there were two computers in the lobby with the printer at a disposal (although the keyboard wasn't standard qwerty, the letters were set up in a different way, which was a bit confusing:)

Room Tip: My room was in -1 floor and it did not have the view in the street but in some courtyard or space be...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank articok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 434 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel was a great find. Inside the classy brick exterior, everything inside was modern and bright, with clean lines and pops of color. The breakfast spread was one of the best we've seen in Europe, and we particularly appreciated the chocolate eggs generously sprinkled throughout the hotel to help guests celebrate the Easter holiday. The location was a little off the beaten tourist path (15-20 minute walk to the central train station), but not insurmountable, and very close to an excellent little neighborhood brasserie. At the low price we found online, this hotel was an incredible value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Aqua Hotel is in a small street close to the Namur Place in Brussels, close to the numerous shops and restaurants of the Louise district, FNAC, Inno and so on. 3 minutes of the subway station. But the most important is the hotel and the room, of course!
Aqua Hotel is brand new, may be 2 years old, may be not a charm and cosy hotel, but in the very expensive capital of EU, it's a very comfortable and practical place, the room is very well furnished, TV, free Wi-fi, shower and a desk where it is possible to work, with natural light. OK. Included the breakfast, with all the food you expect to find in a 3 stars hotel. The staff is friendly and usefull.
Second time for me to be here, and the same feeling to be in a good place at a good rate, around 120 euros per night, not unexpensive, but perfectly appropriate for someone looking for a centered hotel without any major complication
(detail, the street is in transformation, may be not the most welcoming avenue of the city, but once in the lobby, with contemporary art everywhere, you will say : a good place, I stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We must have had a bad map or took a wrong street on our attempt to find the hotel from the train. I did not feel this hotel was close to the central station by foot. We ended up having to get a taxi there and when we figured out the bus situation we were able to take a bus to the train station to leave. However, it was only a 15 minute walk to the Grand Palace area. The hotel had a very comfortable bed and was pretty clean (the sheet had a couple of small stains). The faucets/sinks as mentioned in other reviews were quite poorly designed. Even after having read about them, I drenched my shirt as did my daughter. I can see them being a problem for families with young children. The bathroom floors were often wet because of the shower design. This wasn't a big deal for a couple night stay but after a few days, it would be annoying. On the plus side, they have an in-room safe, my son loved the deep tub and I enjoyed the big shower heads. The breakfast was also very good. They had some nice touches for the price such as nice shampoos and soaps. For a family of four, we had two adjoining rooms which were nice and roomy and offered two televisions and restrooms. That was an unexpected surprise that made getting ready in the morning nice! Funny, guess I had more nice things to say than I thought. I'm changing my initial rating from average to very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharPHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on a good few occasions now and always try to book it when I'm in Brussels because it's clean, reasonable value, quiet, has good Internet and is very convenient for the Metro.

However the approach from the Namur station is down a dingy street that, ever since I have been coming to the hotel, has been a building site, so don't be put off by the surroundings - it is worth the short walk!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We've got a special offer for this hotel on a booking web-site, and for that price it was excellent. Very nice decoration, comfortable rooms. The only problem was the lack of surfaces to put clothes on in the bathroom.

The location is close to the central station and to the European parliament district and not that far from the city centre. One can reach everything by foot. At the same time, it's in a very quiet street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karapetyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

As a design professional I love to see hotels that have gone the extra mile to create an unique and/or artistic environment. The Aqua Hotel is one of the coolest looking hotels I have stayed seen in quite a while. HOWEVER, a hotel is more of a function than an art piece so function needs to take precedence over style. For instance the toilets are square and are really cool, however, my backside is round and any 4 year old can tell you that a round peg doesn't fit in a square hole. Having the lamp light switch 20 feet away from the lamp is also not so functional. Lastly, the girls working the desk were pretty, but clueless and were of no help at all when asked simple requests, such as "where do I find parking?".

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chambord
Hotel Chambord
#111 of 198 in Brussels
539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlas Hotel Brussels
Atlas Hotel Brussels
#55 of 198 in Brussels
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Neufchatel
Hotel Neufchatel
#9 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintage Hotel Brussels
Vintage Hotel Brussels
#1 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
686 reviews
1.6 mi away
Housingbrussels
Housingbrussels
#1 of 8 in Schaerbeek
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 15 in Ixelles
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Address: Rue de Stassart 43, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $98 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aqua Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Hotel is located in the Toison d'Or-Louise area (chic and trendy area, ideal for shopping), very close from the Egmont Palace, the Mont des Arts and the Royal Place where all the major museums are. Camille Lemonier Museum is also very close by. The Hotel features a fitness room openes 24/7 for which the access is free for the hotel's guests. Wifi is free in the whole hotel and the rooms have ethernet cable slots. Feel free to contact the reception in order to book the Meeting Room and organize your meetings in a design and warm atmosphere. The rooms all feature a little fridge to store your tasty souvenirs, tea and coffee facilities and air conditionning. The majority of our rooms are decorated with an original painting! We will be looking forward to making you comfortable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing