We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full points for a careful presentation of Magritte's life and friends”

Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.42*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #29 of 396 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
1,123 reviews
345 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
“Full points for a careful presentation of Magritte's life and friends”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I really felt there could have been no better job done in presenting the Rene Magritte Story, his context, where he comes from, how things developed, the Wars 1 and 2, the renewed optimism, the lack of success in the US, the use of short films and the way he embraced them as art,

Rene clearly lived his life honest to his art and the tour through three floors of the Museum gave me a perfect understanding and feeling for it.

Well done, a MUST visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    416
    191
    45
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“This is not Magritte Museum”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

If the title caught your eye and continued reading, good on you. Those of you who know Rene Magritte well, he would often use the lines "This is not a ..." for the titles to his art pieces. This was one of the quirky facts about Magritte. A painting of a pipe with the title "This is not a Pipe" was meant to tell his viewers that the painting is a depiction of a pipe and not a real pipe. Similarly this is a review of Magritte Museum, not Magritte Museum itself.

Welcome to the world of Margritte when you step in. The musuem showcases both Magritte's work and his life story, which influenced his work. Many hailed Magritte as a genius and a creative artiste, and his life itself was very colourful. Claimed to be one of the first to use surrealism, his works very very intriguing. Visit the musuem to find out more about this man who influenced Belgium fine arts scene and his works.

The shop at the end will sell lots of books and other literary stuff on Magritte. Worth buying a trinket or 2 for memorabilia.

It cost me 8 euros for an adult ticket. My Eurostar ticket gave me a 2 for 1 museum pass so I paid a total 8 euros for my other half and I. All thanks to Eurostar.

4 stars overall for the memorable experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“interesting museum”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

lots to see to find out about his life, with photos, letters as well as his art work. The audio guide was and extra 4 euros.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ukcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“I returned a second time”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I had initially planned just to buy some things at the museum shop, but decided to visit the museum a second time. It was worth it to see the Magritte paintings again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank eridotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a MUST SEE in Brussels”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Magritte museum should be one of your first stops in Brussels. It is part of a bigger museum, however you should expect big lines and lots of people visiting. They charge a small fee (first Wed of each month is free :) ). At the basement you can find a nice museum shop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiltieTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium also viewed

 

Been to Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing