We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting museum and collection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium

Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.38*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #27 of 391 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum and collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I thought the museum was great and it was interesting to learn about and focus on one artist and see so many of his works. I would recommend the audioguide. Though at some museums they are not necessary, I felt that at this particular museum, the audioguide was very helpful in giving additional information on the artist, the art, and the history of and behind both. I appreciated the museum and the artist's works, which are unusual and fascinating and definitely worth seeing, even if you are not an art expert.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    393
    176
    42
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect curation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

What to do if your iconic artist's most well known works have been swept up by Museums in other countries? This.

Marvellously curated, intuitive, literally top-down exploration of Magritte's life, his influences, contemporaries (I though missed Wittgenstein) and the evolution and crystallisation of his art.

Together with the Warhol museum in Pittsburgh, my favourite art museum worldwide for sheer quality of presentation and experience.

Worth a trip to Brussels, on its own.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GranmaEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well-thought Museum Presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I travelled to Brussels from Paris to see two specific attractions, one of which is the Magritte Museum.

The collection is adjacent to the Fine Art Museum; you purchase a ticket at the Fine Art Museum, then walk across to the Magritte entrance, which is an elevator: A staff person takes you up three stories to begin your journey, as you travel back down to ground level, floor by floor. Each floor tells of a successive era in Magritte's life, with the foyer of each floor showing short black and white films of his life.

At the start of each floor, you enter a double doorway and view magazine and newspaper stories, photos, and a timeline, all of which highlight important events in Magritte's life and place that floor's and era's works in perspective. It is interesting to see both the physical aging of the artist in the photos, as well as the distinct evolution and phases of his artistic works. The surrealist art is challenging, creative and wholly original. More than once, I was struck by the randomness of titles assigned to paintings, surrealist for sure. There are English translations on almost every museum-presented note.

I highly recommend a visit to the Magritte Museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RobSwims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An Interesting Collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Museum was excellent. You were taken in a lift to the top floor, and then you work your way down through three floors of paintings, drawings and sculptures. There was little English, but that didn't bother me as I prefer to look at the paintings rather than read about them!

The only downside is Magritte's paintings repeat ideas and images, so some of the sections can be very similar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Magritte Museum is a must-see. Its three floors give a clear, sequential over view of the artist's life and work - if you haven't read up on Magritte before, be sure to pick up an audioguide, as it does give lots of context to the exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium also viewed

 

Been to Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing