We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.52*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #28 of 393 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Blagoveschensk
Level Contributor
322 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“lots of new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Magritte Museum houses a large collection of his works, about 200 pieces. From the top floor, where the tour starts, you follow the phases of his life and art. The exposition embraces bio data, family photos and works, and an audio guide supplies a lot of interesting facts. His study of metamorphosis, for instance, how reality and unreality coexist and how they are reflected on the canvas. There’re several paintings where Magritte plays with light and darkness merging these opposites into a single unity, Dominion of Light, if I remember right. It is enchanting! And Black Magic, too, where a female figure placed against the sky background blends with the clouds and sky.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    407
    185
    44
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well-conceived installation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

To echo some other reviews here, I really liked the organization of this museum. I liked its
chronological ordering, which lets you see how artist evolved. I enjoyed its range, from major works to drawings to lesser works to personal movies to philosophic musings, all working in order to convey a sense of the artist in a personal way--I must confess in away I had not anticipated. And I also think subdued light worked well both in presenting both colors and themes of paintings, as Magritte in well lit halls can seem a bit less painterly. Finally, sometimes less is more. On same trip I went to Louvre in Paris where scope/quantity is overwhelming. At the end of more focused Magritte museum, I think one emerges with insight/appreciation that remains long after the experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rggMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lots of magritte paintings in dark 20C rooms. The famous paintings are keept in america but these are worth a visit. A bit expensive but nice to see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomkarlinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sureal for real I am sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A fine collection of the paintings by Magritte. You can easily visit five other museums within 300 meters of this one.

Helpful?
Thank mnodonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Quite new museum, well researched and presented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is the recently opened (2009) museum next to the main Beaux Arts Museum, not the Musee Rene Magritte in Rue Esseghem, which is his former house. Some contributors have entered their reviews of this museum under the other. Joint tickets with the main Museum are available, though these are timed for the Magritte. Covering three levels, there is a wealth of documentary and photo material as well as a good number of art works. The lighting is necessarily restricted but does not detract too much from the viewing experience. It is not a comprehensive collection of the artist's work, but enough to appreciate his unique style and visual philosophy. Our visit concluded with an excellent film (English sub-titles) which along with the exhibition gave a real insight into Belgium's greatest artist of modern times.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium also viewed

 

Been to Musee Magritte Museum - Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing