We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but poor standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre
Ranked #43 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but poor standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay - hotel of average standard, not the advertised 4* in my opinion but was in a good location. Maintenance required to rooms: the heating was not working in our room, reception told who advised they would send up a portable heater - did not arrive. Bathroom has a terrible drain smell - didn't bother telling reception from other posts re the same problem and found that running the shower for a few minutes got the water moving through the drainage system!

Wouldn't overly recommend staying here but if you get it for a decent price then go for it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie_S820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    390
    150
    50
    30
See reviews for
83
346
48
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

nice location between central station and cathedral with underground parking.

Room size nice and quiet location.

Comfy beds

International staff working on the reception desk could improve a big language skills.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenTravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights while I was on a business trip. The room and bathroom were decent size. The room was clean and the the hotel overall okay. The parking was a bit dodgy - make sure you have a small car - we had rented an Corsa which was about as big as you would want to take into the garage.

The problems we had were - no internet. We got there on a Saturday and I needed the internet to get some final instructuctions before my meeting. They did not know it was down. We could not use the business center as the computers in it did not have the internet either. For a business traveler the internet is mandatory. They offered the use of the one at the check in desk. Problem is everyone could see what was on the screen and I did not feel comfortable downloading proprietary information onto their computer.

The room had 10 - yes 10 - maintenance problems. In the toilet the lid to the trash can would fall off and make lots of noise, the shower head had to be held on to the wall when using, the curtains were not long enough for the windows thus one or both ends would have sunlight streaming in each morning, the door to the mini-fridge was misaligned and the light stayed on all the time, the light bulb associated with the switch at the door was burnt out, the air conditioning controller was broke, the desk lamp would not stay in the upright position, along with a few other issues. We got in late and did not realize some of the issues until the next day. They offered to give us a different room, but as we had a short time in town to do some sightseeing, we did not want to spend over a hour of our time moving when it should have been right in the first place.

There are lots of hotels in the city, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: We were in the front of the building which was nice as there really is no view to be had, but it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

The location is perfect. It is only a couple of minutes on foot from the Central Station, a few metres from the cathedral and within easy walking distance of the Grand Place and museums. It was nevertheless quiet.
The room was comfortable but lacked character. The biggest problem was the poor lighting. I was unable to read anything that was not on my iPad. There was also a sulphur-like odour coming out of the drains in the bathroom.
I think the hotel generally needs renovating. There were damage marks on the corridor walls probably from guests hauling their luggage around and the carpet looked dark and depressing.
Despite my criticism I would probably stay there again because of the location, but only for a night or two and if the management buys stronger light bulbs!

Room Tip: My friend was on the top floor and said her room was light and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuffetFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night before leaving Brussels. I wouldn't call this a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination. Then again, I also didn't pay 4 star prices either, so it all balances out. Perhaps 3 stars is probably more accurate.

This hotel is conveniently right near Central Station and very close to the city center. The location can't be beat. That being said, I had a little trouble finding the hotel. It's in one of the side streets and there's a fair amount of construction going on next to the hotel, so the entrance is obscured by a fenced off area and a large dumpster.

My room was clean and neat and HUGE by European standards. There were some scuff marks near the door and luggage rack, they should paint that over. The bathroom was also really big and modern and had nice toiletries. I found the room well-appointed. There was a desk, a fridge, a safe, extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. The room is a little dark, but if you put all the lights on it's fine (I usually don't). The cathedral bells are a little annoying, but they do stop ringing in the evening. I also couldn't figure out the heat controls of the room, but it wasn't a big deal.

Of the places I stayed during my trip, this was by far the nicest hotel and was super convenient when I needed to catch the train the next morning (Not something to be taken lightly! There were massive delays on every train in Central Station and I needed every minute to get to the airport on time!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivyrosewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is right in the centre of Brussels, near the main train station: less than 5 minutes from the Conference Center and 3 minutes walk from la Grand Place. The breakfast is poor: coffee is horrible. The room I had (206) was right in front of another building (the street is very small) and I could not keep the curtains open. the light in the room is poor, TV has very few useless channels. Bathroom is ok. Very nice service.
Also the hotel is near one of the main cathedrals so bells ringing all day ( very pleasant I must say...)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrimar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#9 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.2 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#88 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre

Property: Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre
Address: Rue des Paroissiens 15/27, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star deluxe Sandton Brussels Centre boosts 70 comfortable and contemporary air conditioned guest rooms, an intimate lounge, two meeting rooms and underground private parking. Needless to mention, wireless internet and business facilities are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing