We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre
Ranked #31 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We spend a couple of days at Sandton. It is a modern hotel, with the facilities you expext of a four star hotel. The rooms have a modern design, with spacy beds, safe, flat screen TV and so on. The bathrooms is also very nice.

We was pleased with the breakfast. Good selection of good quality food, tasty and served in nice breakfast area.

On of the best thing about Sanders is its quiet location, despite it is in the city center.

The Grand Place is just some 300 meters from the hotel. Also the metro is about 100 meters from the hotel. Finally, you find the Gare Central some 200 meters away. From Gare Central it is a 15 minutes train ride to the international airport.

When going to Brussels next time I will consider Sandton once again.

1  Thank Leiftaa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PeterHesp, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for these nice compliments.
Please be assured that we share them with our colleagues.

For your next trip to Brusels, please do reserve via our own website and contact me beforehand, to make sure that you always pay the best price.

Friendly regards,

Peter Hesp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 933 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Staying here was a pleasant experience. The location is extremely central yet quiet, the staff very kind and obliging, the facility clean and well-kept-up, the breakfast buffet fairly extensive and tasty. The decor is sort of an updated version of 1960s Brussels funk.I gather the price is high, at least during the medical meeting for which I was in town, but I wasn't paying it, so...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodieBroadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHesp, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this friendly review.
Our colleagues and I appriciate this highly and I will certainly inform them about your compliments.

Hoping to welcoming you back in our hotel very soon!
If so, please do reserve via our own website, or contact the hotel directly.

Friendly regards,

Peter Hesp
Genaral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's not a bad place to stay, but before spending 180€ per night you might want to try to finding better options.

The review is about a "Deluxe Double room" described officially as "This spacious corner room, in a quiet part of the hotel, features a Krups coffee machine and luxurious bathroom with a walk-in shower" and features "Safety Deposit Box, Air Conditioning, Desk, Extra Long Beds (> 2 metres), Heating, Shower, Bathrobe, Free toiletries, Toilet, Bathroom, Slippers, Telephone, Radio, Satellite Channels, Cable Channels, Flat-screen TV, Tea/Coffee Maker, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Room Size: 32 square metres
Bed Size(s): 1 Large double".

What are the pros:

- Near the central station
- Close to Grand Place - the main attraction and nicest spot in Brussels
- You can expect things to work, have a clean bed to sleep and warm water to shower

What are the cons:

-- Details that are wrong in the above description:
- The room feels small, 25 sqm in other hotels feel larger.
- There are no slippers.
- The radio is part of the TV
- The description suggests that this is a quiet room. The room might be in a quiet part, he still is on a very noisy road, so there is a lot of noise coming in from outside at night.
- The double bed is actually a twin bed

-- Other cons:
- The Central station is very traveller unfriendly, you need to carry luggage over many stairs
- Spooky place at night, rather hard to find and it feels unsafe
- Rooms are tiny
- The bathroom smells
- The closet is small and unpractical
- The inventory is a bit run down already
- There is almost no lights in the room. It is dark in the room, which is most annoying when you pack in the morning and struggle to find your stuff, but also reading without getting directly under a lamp is not possible.
- Although its dark in the room when the lights are on in exchange there are some light on the side of the bed that you can not turn off at night! In combination with the noise from outside that wakes you up twice a night those permanent LED lights are really a pain.
- Poor breakfast costs 20€

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHesp, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for having stayed in our hotel.
Yes, rates can fluctuate in Brussels and you were here on a very busy day.

We thank you for your remarks and have alraedy taken one in consideration: our haninging lamps are fitted with stronger light bulbs.

We are sorry to hear that you did not like our breakfast. Breakfast is at only 15€ if you reserve it in advance and we get many compliments on it.

We hope welcoming you back again in our hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me.

Friendly regards,

Peter Hesp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As previously mentioned by others the Sandton had a few minor glitches, handle missing on wardrobe, paint peeling a fraction on the ceiling in the shower, shower overflowed a bit so you have to make sure you have a towel on the floor, like bulb out on the bathroom mirror lights, curtains were coming off the rail at the ends, pillows too big/solid for my spoiled head.

However, the pluses were also coming in thick and fast for the Sandton and surpassed the glitches as a clear winner: conveniently situated smack in the middle of Brussels, great variety of walks nearby from the offbeat to the touristy, calm welcoming hotel environment, loved the warm hues in the room design, huge king sized bed - super comfy/warm, carpet cleaned, overall the room superiorly clean and tidy.

And a big shout out to the lovely Karim who greeted us like we were old mates, kept our bags well before check-in and directed us to the best local restaurants off the tourist trails which didn't cost and an arm and a leg.

Karim also ticked the box for us with a request for a Moroccan restaurant. A fantastic local Moroccan restaurant in Midi not far from the train station, called Pasadena which wasn't in our Time Out guide at all! And Pasadena had great prices, too!
Karim made the trip for us.

So, Sandton, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHesp, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Mr Danny,

Many thanks for this very positive review.
We gave Karim a big hug!

Concerning the rooms: yes they are very nice and comfortable and we know that there are some things to do. We just finished with the painting of the public area and start of this week to get rid of those little imperfections in each room.

Once more many thanks and hope welcoming you back very soon! For this, please do not hesitate to contact us personally or to reserve via our own website.

Friendly regards,

Peter Hesp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Me and my friend enjoyed so much our stayin at the hotel, we were so sorry to leave after just one night :(
big and clean room, with everything you need ! (loved the huge shower)
very close to the city centre
totally worth the price
Breakfast was the best ever !!
Thanks to all the staff, specially to Karim, everybody was really friendly and helpful for everything we needed or asked
For sure im goin to choose Sandton if i retourn in Brussels

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilaria05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHesp, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and your very friendly review. I just showed it to Karim and be convinced that his smile was very big!

Also thanks for the compliments about the breakfast. We do our best to serve the best one, and it's good to read that you enjoyed it.

For your next trip to Brussels please do not hesitate to contact us (Karim!) directly for the best rates.

Friendly regards,

Peter Hesp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels around Brussels and this is my favourite so far.
Great location, near to the central station, the town centre/Grand Place, and with a metro station right outside. The room was fresh and very pleasant and the breakfast was excellent. I also received excellent customer service from the staff.
Highly recommended! I will certainly be returning!
Matt

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHesp, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for this very nice review! This is the way we want them to be each time a guest leaves our hotel! You can be sure we are working on this each day....

Please let me know when you need a room again in Brussels. I'd be happy to take care of your reservation personally,

Friendly regards,

Peter Hesp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked this hotel on a whim. The location was perfect and close to everything we wanted to see. The room was clean and very quiet. Parking was available. We did not have breakfast because it seemed rather pricey. Overall it was a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHesp, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thanks you for the nice comments you left on this site. I have shared them with the colleagues!

We also thank you for informing others about the parking, as not many hotels in the haert of the city centre dispose of their own underground parking with direct acces to the hotel.

Breakfast is not that expensive we think. If you book it in advance, or upon check in, we offer a full buffet breakfast with the best confiture in the world at only 15€. Do not hesitate to book it when you come to Brussels again. I am sure you will taste that we offer excellent value for money!

Friendly regards,

Peter Hesp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#11 of 199 in Brussels
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Grand Place
Catalonia Grand Place
#64 of 199 in Brussels
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre

Address: Rue des Paroissiens 15 - 23, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $77 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star deluxe Sandton Brussels Centre boosts 70 comfortable and contemporary air conditioned guest rooms, an intimate lounge, two meeting rooms and underground private parking. Needless to mention, wireless internet and business facilities are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing