We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place and good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Bi

Le Grand Bi
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Le Grand Bi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,805 of 3,492 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: French Belgian Restaurant + Seafood
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun place and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was very good- salads were fresh and crisp, the beef strog and mussels were terrific and the wait staff were cheerful and friendly! If we had been there for one more night we would have gone back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RinkeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    82
    86
    67
    227
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
c
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

It's just bright lights.
Inside there's nothing of value. Except the live lobsters aquarium, possibly.
But the food was average.
The portions were SMALL.
The wine was expensive.
And to the staff...you're just customer number 1.000.432.3454.453.345.341...so it doesn't really matter whether you are there at all....
Really, keep looking, there are much better and cheaper places in Brussels.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Seasonedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Indifferent Waiters - Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I had an evening meal at this restaurant 3 nights ago. We definitely would not go back. Both waiters on duty were indifferent and quite frankly rude to us and another couple eating there. We had seen the set menus for 12 and 18 euros advertised outside. On being seated at a table we were given the more expensive menu starting from 20 euro to 45 euro for one course. When we asked for the cheaper set menu the waiter made it obvious that he was displeased. He was reluctant to discuss prices of wine when we enquired about price and practically threw a wine list at my husband when we asked about what was on offer. We had to ask for the butter and a plate for the bread.
Our starter of prawns in garlic was luke warm. My husband had chicken, salad and frites which was ok. I had seafood paella which was terrible. There was no seasoning or vegetables. The only seafood was about 20 mussels which were tiny - the quantity was overkill of shells on the paella. There were 2 small prawns in their shells which were rubbery.
To make things worse there were a couple of men in the restaurant close to us that were choosing a meal from the more expensive menu. The waiter could not do enough for them. He talked through the menu with them and enquired several times if all was ok - a service my husband and another customer did not get. To boot the waiter told them to 'enjoy' their meal a courteous we did not get.
We definitely would not eat here again. the quality of food and service was atrocious. Worst meal we have had for a long long time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LincolnshireRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful seafood with boutique beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice place to eat seafood, drink degustation beer along with boutique ones. Waiters speak&understand English. We came with my wife and sat outside. They are located at the corner of that lovely but stiffed small street crossing the bigger road crossing. Unlike the plenty of other restaurants in the small street, Le Grand Bi offers a spacious area to sit. You can still sit at the small street side or on ground floor with an aquarium or on first floor...

The menu is similar to the other nearby restaurants wrt prices and variety. Their prices fit within a margin of -/+ €1. So, no need to worry for the prices. There is no noisy waiters, besides you can reach them whenever you need something. If you can't remember what you want, just describe it to them and they will recommend the appropriate equivalent.

We had a mussel (moules :Fr) bucket with celery stalk in white wine and oysters along with Duvel beer in its hourglass-like shaped glass... fantastic.

IMHO, all restaurants nearby are the same in concept and prices in their categories; seafood, Greek, Italian... Le Grand Bi's advantage is you can sit at either side: At the small street or at the big road.

VISA & cash accepted.

I'd recommend mussel bucket with a flavour choice of your own with oyster+lobster plate along with Belge beers.

A higly recommended place! Have fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cafyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Set menu for €12 and €18.... Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We came as a family and the waiters looked after the little girls, showing them the lobsters... We had the set menu which was fantastic value and too much food.... I had oysters and lamb, which was cooked to perfection.... All four of us enjoyed the food and struggled to find space for the desserts, but we managed waffles, which were just Devine.... Great price and would recommend, we were not rushed despite having children and would happily come again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wildleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Bi also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Grand Bi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing