We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”

Le Wine Bar des Marolles
Ranked #7 of 3,522 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The welcoming was nice, and the decor is also... But definitely the prices are too high for what you get... 19? for 3 beef cheeks, just as an example. the main problem isnt here, but about the wine price (im a professional). the wine per glass choice is very poor and asking 7? for a glass need that the wine to be exceptionnal, but this was far not the case. Service was friendly but long. Definitely doesnt worth his ranking for me

Helpful?
4 Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    162
    29
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun and cosy with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a second visit, and I enjoyed it just as much as the first time. It has a lovely layout in the cellars, which means even though you are surrounded by people you feel as if you are in your own bubble. We had pink champagne, as there was a special offer at the same price as normal champagne – delicious. We had varied starters including asparagus and vitello tonnato, mails included onglet of beef and farmhouse chicken – so much of it I couldn’t finish. All very delicious and washed down with a Spanish red and a grape variety that I had never heard of. That’s the fu part – you say how much you are willing to pay, what kind of wine you like or would like to try, and they surprise you. Such fun!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubruxella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful coincidence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Moved few months ago to Brussels and found a flat nearby Le Wine Bar. It took me a wile to get in there since it really does not make the impression to be something special. Few simple tables on street level in a very lonesome side street of Sablon.
Once I got there I was not greeted too friendly. Nevertheless the food was just great, so I Came back. Next time they got much friendlier and the food remained great. By then I realized that they are on tripadvisor and to my surprise in the top 10 restaurants of Brussels. I can just say, it's in the to 2 of my extensive list and when it comes to price and friendliness of the staff it's number one. In addition they do not only serve great food but of course as the name suggest, specially great wine. If you are looking for a romantic place to eat with your loved one or just a quiet corner to enjoy, this is the right place without getting ripped off.
See you there

Alex

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aweidman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grate dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Dinner was amazing wine was excellent (cornas Philip pacalet 2001) all in all top night not cheep but not crazy pring had very nice time best I think itd good to book before hand thats what we did as looking around  as we left it filled up quick stuff nice good English and French so no bad moments

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rybo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wine bar du sablon ??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

such a great evening...my pleasure to know about that place, i'll be there in every sunday night. thumbs up for "wine bar du sablon "people !! !! !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Ianovițchi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Wine Bar des Marolles also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Wine Bar des Marolles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing