We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really poor”
Review of Le Chat Noir - CLOSED

Le Chat Noir
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really poor”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This restaurant used to be one of my regular spots to dinner with visitors. Since they renew the place the prices went high too much. The waiter/owner looks like he blames you for the money he spent renovating the place and was quite rude to one of my friends. The food quality is just ok, but it will take them ages to serve you.

There are much much better options around .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BorjaBruselas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    68
    44
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I eat aile de raie au beurre blond ( ray with melted butter) which was very very great!
I recommend this dish , is special ! All the food was nice! Our friends was eating pastas and my housband lapin grand mere ( rabbit) - very good
The decoration of the restaurant is not the best and the toillette is strange but the food is excellent!

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved the Restaurant and Stayed at owner's Flat”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed right above the restaurant in a flat the owner rents out. We ate here several times and we loved the food, service and atmosphere. You are very close to the central square and there are a lot of things to do in this area. Le Chat Noir was always open late and we absolutely loved the people and the food. Will definitely eat here again when we return. My favorite was the Spaghetti Champion (double Bolognese sauce)!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cccode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice food and fast service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great mussels and belgian specialties served in an old-fashioned decor, which is nice and simple. Restaurant owner and staff could be a bit warmer, but in an area of Brussels which is full of tourists and where there are many restaurants of low quality, we were very happily surprised. Would definitely recommend it to people who want a totally correct service with nice food at decent prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwise24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really really poor”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

When we arrived we were shown to our table and everything looked promising. Unfortunately the service just got slower and slower. We waited 25 minutes to order dessert before giving up totally and walking out. What made the visit worse was the pair of six month old babies, one of whom was screaming the place down (really I am more than happy to see children in restaurants, I think it is a really good and healthy sign but babies, no and most defintiely not at 8pm at night when clearly they are going to be tired) and the owners did nothing. What is really sad is they the food, when it does arrive was of a really high quality - probably the best lasagne I have had in a long long time. Just sort out the service and this place would be really worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayv0yager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Noir also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Watermael-Boitsfort, Brussels
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing