We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a found!”
Review of Le Coup de Coeur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Coup de Coeur
Ranked #125 of 209 Brussels B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2012

great location, just off Market Square and the central station. The house seems to be an old butcher's where the breakfast is given in the morning (plentyfull). At night lounge music and lot's of candle's change it into a cosy lounge area where you read a book or relax. A small staircase brings you up to the suites. Travel light. It will save you from frustration if you go upstairs and saves the host's back when he gives you a hand upon arrival.

The suite was very spacious with a luxurious touch. Ours had a terrace at the back. A massive bathroom with rain shower, free standing bath and double sink. The bed was king size. Although Ikea it was comfortable. Satelite TV, Preloaded Ipod with Ipod charger and player...

We saw a special deal on the booking com website but decided to contact the owner direct. He gave us the same rate and we saved him the commission which he normaly is due to pay.

We will be back!
Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fevery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Le Coup de Coeur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 192 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at Le Coup de Coeur just for 1 night, but we regret not having stayed longer. We had some trouble finding the place at first, but we soon realized that we were just 3 minutes away from La Grand Place and all the other main spots in Brussels. In the past this B&B's must have been a shop of some sort (perhaps a butcher's shop?) because the entrance door and the "reception" area (now converted into an open kitchen to prepare breakfast) still presents some of the ancient wall tiles and features. A super narrow staircase, painted in shiny red and black gloss, takes the guests to their rooms (one per floor, each one is different). Charlotte, the hostess, was really great to us - she gave us plenty of hints on what to see and where to eat; then she took us to our room, whose decoration left us breathless. Breakfast was just great; we sat at the same table with other guests and had all sorts of paistries, jams, cheese and chocolate spreads. We highly recommend this B&B to anyone who enjoys staying at a unique place when travelling!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flawlessmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our huge suite at Le Coup de Coeur. Steep, narrow steps lead to our room on the first floor. That was not an issue for us, but it might be a problem for some people. We had difficulty finding the B&B because it has an unassuming storefront look to it. When we did find it, it was closed and no one was there. As others have experienced, we had to call the manager and wait for someone to let us in. It was not very welcoming. Be sure to set up your arrival ahead of time. The suite was huge, relaxing and romantic. The bed was very comfortable and the linens wonderful. The location was fantastic. It is on a very old square, with sites and excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. Also it is only 2 blocks from the Central Station stop, so it was inexpensive to get to. The breakfasts were tasty and fun. We enjoyed the breads, many spreads, cheese and ham plate, yogurt and kiwi fruit. The room had no phone, which was a problem for us. Also the bathroom floor was water damaged, and there was no place to put things. With some shelving and more amenities, it could have been much nicer. The tub shower was challenging to get in and out of as well. The TV had lots of channels, which we loved since we caught our favorite sports team. All in all we had a very fun time and recommend it to those who would not be put off by the rough edges that we experienced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

It is a crying shame this Bed & Breakfast is not better organised with regard to reservations.

We were also victims of a change of location: the room I had booked four months prior to our trip (specifically mentioning our 3-year old was accompanying us), for the night of September 10, was already taken upon our arrival, even though I had re-confirmed our reservation two weeks beforehand. Double bookings galore…

We were transferred to the Residence Grand Place (also property of the owner of Coup de Coeur and Concept Hotel) on the square. Our son still needs his afternoon naps and restful nights. All afternoon, brass band concerts took place on the Grand Place and the Tattoo musical parade was programmed that evening until late. Our son hardly slept that afternoon and because of the parade and the fireworks, he stayed up until the end of the show, ie. 11pm. He then thankfully fell asleep from exhaustion, and for me, a sleepless night began: after the parade, the noise of the thousands of spectators who had attended the show walking and talking in the street below until about 2am, a group of Irish tourists singing under our window (2.30am?), the early morning drunkards yelling and breaking bottles (3 to 5am?), and finally, the 6.30am garbage collectors. As for my husband, he managed to sleep a little better than I did, but he was in a rather bad mood the next day..!

The Residence Grand Place is superb, but seriously lacks double (or even preferably triple) glazing. I suppose that if no event is planned on the Grand Place, the noise factor is not an issue and you can spend a wonderful time there.

I shall rate le Coup de Coeur poorly, only because of their lack of organisation linked to bookings. It is an undoubtedly superb B&B, I only wish we could have seen it. I'd actually spent a considerable amount of time in April and May researching onTripadvisor which B&B would best suit our needs, and specifically selected Le Coup de Coeur.

One of the owners, Charlotte, offered to grant us a discount when we next come to Brussels, after I had complained about the nocturnal noise. Thank you Charlotte, but frankly, we don’t much have the opportunity to travel much as a family, and it more than unlikely we’ll come back to Brussels in the foreseeable future.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
6  Thank nanasut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Rooms are upstairs above an old butcher shop. Steep stairs, but the rooms are uniquely decorated and very comfortable. A real find for walkers wanting to explore old Brussels.

Room Tip: Get the room with the private balcony
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhardyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We lived here one night in the family suit on Aug. 3. The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom has modern design and is good. The BB owner is kind and helpful. he took the luggages for us to the top floor because the stair is very steap and made some delicious breakfast for us by himself in the next morning.
The location is great! you can go to anywhere by walk if you want.
I recommend this BB. I think the only thing must care is the stair, if you have a bad knees or legs.. Otherwise, everything is OK!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HUNG5728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed 2 nights in the Mirror room with my friend. The room was very spacious and had a cute interiour. There was also a bath tub though there wasn't a lid to fill it up - maybe they didn't want the guest to use too much water? The location was also good, still 10 mins walk from the station but it gets close to the central area where you want to stroll around.
The breakfast was also good - a croissant, cheese, fruits, good coffee and the fresh orange juice. I would like to go back and try staying in the other room too.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bio_lab1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#100 of 198 in Brussels
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Coup de Coeur Appartement Grand Place 4
0.0 mi away
Happy Guesthouse
Happy Guesthouse
#30 of 209 in Brussels
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Epicentre
L'Epicentre
#106 of 209 in Brussels
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Coup de Coeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Coup de Coeur

Address: place de la Vieille Halle aux Bles, 43, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range: $176 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Coup de Coeur 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Brussels, close to the Sablon, the antiques district, the Square and the bustling Grand Place, in a private house of the 19th century completely renovated in 2009, LE COUP DE COEUR welcomes you in its guest rooms of charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Coup de Coeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Coup De Coeur Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing