We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Magic”
Review of The Magic Rubens

The Magic Rubens
Reserve with
The Magic Rubens is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,310 of 4,246 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 27, 2019

The only thing magic about this place is that it can stay open after offering consistently poor service. Perhaps it's because they have a good location. We were seated and it took some time before a waiter acknowledged us and took our order. The waiter told us that they accept credit cards only to be told later that they don't. The food arrived before our difficult drink order- a beer and a hot chocolate.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MitziMarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 442 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

After experiencing great customer service around Brussels for the past 3 days we came to this place on our last day here. Unfortunately we did not check reviews on trip advisor beforehand, as we usually do. The waiter was extremely rude and it was well over priced. We were charged €16.40 For a cappuccino, bottle of still water and a 1/2 pint draft beer. We had to ask for a receipt after paying in cash as they didn't accept credit card. The waiter came back with a receipt and asked for an extra 50c! We obviously left without paying an extra 50c. What a rip off. Please don't step foot into this place.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mireille D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2018 via mobile

We had lunch there, everything was cold, including steak and escargot, that’s ridiculously eat cold escargot and steak.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Annabasina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile

This was one time I didn't read reviews for this place. We were to meet up with some friends got lost and finally found it... our friends were holding the fort for us. So we really didn't get the chance to look up. Anyways as we settled the second I opened the menu and the waiter came to take the order... they really don't wait they rush you...even when the restaurant wasn't busy! So rude they were making faces acting as of we didn't know what we were doing really really intimidating you. So terrible. Please Please don't come here even their waffles were hard and burnt. Unfriendly restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank pr062016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2018 via mobile

Terrible dirty place, dirty restrooms and strange smell in the restaurant. Really unfriendly and doubled prices

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Stijnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magic Rubens also viewed

 

Been to The Magic Rubens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing