We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good food”
Review of Les Crustaces

Les Crustaces
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Les Crustaces is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,224 of 3,579 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We ate here over the weekend. The service wasn't great although one waiter made up for his colleague who must have been new.

We had the 23 Euro menu and I had garlic prawns with a curry sauce to start and a lovely steak for my main. My fiancee had moules et frites and she really enjoy this. We also had a lovely bottle of Sancerre wine.

We chose to eat here as we wanted to sit outside and soak up the atmosphere and although it got colder later on there were patio heaters that were very nice and warm

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnesy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    175
    105
    76
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice decor but...”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The restaurant itself is reasonably attractive, light with a good use of space and mirrors. Unfortunately thats where the good qualities end. Situated on a street known for its seafood and a menu bursting with fish and shellfish, one would think it should be able to cook a fillet of fish. Apparently not.

We started with a simple fish soup served with what was supposed to be a version of the toasted bread and rouille. The fish soup had reasonable flavour but had only scraps of fish and very little else. The garlic bread was very hard and dry, the "rouille"-style sauce was similar to a supermarket bottle of salad dressing. I thought that it would be difficult to go wrong with a nice, fresh fillet of sea bass and would have been quite content had the chef bothered to cook the fish all the way through. It is unusual to see a large piece of pink uncooked flesh in a small fillet of fish given its tendency to continue cooking after being plated but this restaurant accomplished it.

The service was slow and clumsy, I would not expect to have to flag down waiters when they have designated sections and runners. On a positive note, the wine wasn't bad. Avoid

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value, but average flavour”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were trying to decide between places along the Quai aux Briques since I was told the best seafood was here. This place was okay, nothing amazing,but the fish stew was pretty good and the price was right. All in all I bet I could've had the same meal at any of the other restaurants in the area though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brangrrl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood and service”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great menu and excelled on its fish dishes.
Good atmosphere. I had a shrimp starter followed by moules and frites, my husband cheese croquettes and grilled dorada.
Staff had good attention to detail, even to taking the coats away and impressivley knew which were ours to return without any description inspite of a full restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreeneyMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went last night for a Birthday meal decided to go for the 9 course menu with the steak choice main dish. The dishes started small and got bigger as the came the steak was huge.
Service was great and ambiance very nice, it was a little too bright lights could be turned down a bit to make it more relaxed.
Wine menu reasonable and well chilled.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Crustaces also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Les Crustaces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing