We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The lunch special is good value”
Review of Raphael Restaurant

Raphael Restaurant
Reserve with
Raphael Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #221 of 3,557 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European, Central European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of Brussels, 2 minutes from the 'Grand Place', the Raphael restaurant is the place for both professional and family meals. The baroque style of the restaurant will surprise you. To be seen!
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The lunch special is good value”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I were enticed in by the lunchtime special offer of rump steak, chips and salad. We were not in the least disappointed. Service was quick, the steaks were cooked exactly as requested - and were both tender and tasty. There was plenty of salad and it was fresh. With one small bottled water and 33 cl of the beer I bought purely because I liked the name (Delirium tremens) which turned out to be totally delicious too, the whole thing (just the one course and the drinks) came to 26€. It was an altogether good experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Immlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    255
    77
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very happy visit”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Didn't really expect much as the premises are rather understated. Staff were very friendly though and we were instantly put at our ease. Both my husband & I had steak which was very good and cooked exactly as requested. Chocolate mousse dessert was absolutely lovely. Would return again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoeunwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meal in a church!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had checked out this restaurant on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint. The decor was great, with the old wooden statues and other reclaimed church parts. Toilets were very clean although they may be a problem for the less agile being four floors up. Staff were friendly and efficient and, although the meal was not a gourmet experience, it was good and plentiful. We had the 39.90 euro menu which was three courses and 1/4 litre of wine each - good value!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris648_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ate here late after just arriving in Brussels. The carbonnade flamande was well cooked, and the portion was generous. Service was friendly and fairly speedy. No bargain, but the meal was a lot better than one often finds in a very touristy area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Headaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average food but friendly staff and original dinning place”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Food is not our of the extra-ordinary and I found it over-priced for what it was. I had the rabbit speciality and it wasn't amazing (not bad, just average). However, the staff was friendly on a quiet Sunday afternoon. The place is weirdly designed and a trip to the bathroom allows you to see that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elvis_frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raphael Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Raphael Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing