We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service really really slow and the food wasn't worth the wait!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tortue du Sablon - CLOSED

La Tortue du Sablon
Price range: $27 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
tolentino
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“service really really slow and the food wasn't worth the wait!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We chose the fix price menus: we wait almost a hour for the starters and another hour for the main meal. The food was good, but not the best we've tried in Bruxelles!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stipetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cherry Chocolates in the heart of the Chocolate district??? You must be kidding me...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Ignoring the other mediocre reviews of this restaurant, we decided to test it ourselves during "restaurant week". We started with a Creme Brulee of goose liver, which to my taste was too sweet and too creamy, and lacked the punge of liver. I hardly ever leave anything on my plate, but I just could not eat all of it, cause I was bored after half a plate. The cod that followed was quite bland, and even though the taste of the sauce was quite ok, it didn't stick to the fish. The rose panna cotta with raspberry sauce was nice in taste, but a little too obvious. Staff was quite friendly and not stuck up. For me, a nice try, but not really worth a second visit. Sorry!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArtikalGial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
242 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We walked passed this place and having read about it on TA decided to eat there later on.
We had been listening to some Jazz (as the Marathon was on) and thought we'd need to eat as we hadn't booked. Fortunately for us, we timed it perfectly, as the lovely staff allowed us to have a table and then closed the restaurant to anyone else.
The staff as I have already mentioned were fantastic, very friendly, eager to please, but not in your face. We tried their 'discovery' 3 course menu, which started with a delicious amuse bouche x 2 and then the rest of the courses - all without fault. The wine was delicious too - another recommendation.
Even as they were obviously ready to close for the evening, they continued to be very friendly, offering, after we'd paid the bill, cognac or other drinks as a night cap.
Would highly recommend this establishment.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cftjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service and an arrogant waitress”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

50 minutes from when we sat at the table and the moment they came to take our food order.
We took the 40 Euro/person menu and it was a joke! Basically the starter (mise en bouche) was not existing. Not to mention that they forgot to bring it to us!!!!
We asked for some bread when they served the main dish and they brought it to us by the time we finished the dish.
Last but not least: payment with card was not available (although it shows the visa-mastercard sticker on the entrance door) and they asked guests to walk down the road and get cash from the ATM if they did not have enough to pay. Unbelievable!!!
Never again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele_Brussels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Excellent service, the best ever experienced in Brussels in 2 years. Very good food, great atmosphere. We celebrated a birthday and the cake was ordered in advance and prepared specially for us :) I think I loved it most of all the courses. Will definitely go back to try the lobsters. I strongly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaGeorgieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tortue du Sablon also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing