We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool”
Review of Kumiko Izakaya

Kumiko Izakaya
Order Online
Ranked #3,118 of 4,326 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $4 - $16
Description: Kumiko aims to provide you an open space in the heart of Brussels, where we concentrate the best assets of the east and let them meet with those of the west. The goal is to offer you a place adapted to your needs by providing healthy fast-good food, high quality coffee, cocktail bar&beers.
Restaurant details
Description: Kumiko aims to provide you an open space in the heart of Brussels, where we concentrate the best assets of the east and let them meet with those of the west. The goal is to offer you a place adapted to your needs by providing healthy fast-good food, high quality coffee, cocktail bar&beers.
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

Tired of the Belgian food after a few days we decided to move to something different and healthier. The location is really nice and the food quite basic but good. I would recommend this place.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank violettaf340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 47 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2018

This a the place to go if you are looking for a nice and not too pretentious asian-like dinner while enjoying some drinks. If you don't agree with the concept, then maybe just don't go.
Five minutes from St. Catherine, decorated in style dark and minimalist, aspiring underground. The menu proposes a simple selection of ramen soups and other Asian classics, very easy going for who's not a japanese food expert and doesn't mind. My friend is actually a ramen fan and stated that the miso soup was one of the best in Brussels. Most of the people around us were having coktails or wine.
You are expected to pay right after ordening and pick up your food when the token rings, which is in my view an efficient system and also allows you to leave the table whenever you want without having to wait for the bill.
They deserve four stars.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yelena_mont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

This place was excellent! Very heavy hipster vibe, but fortunately the prices did not match the aesthetic. The place feels very hip and upscale, but the prices were very reasonable for the quanitity and quality. We had the donburi, ramen, and takoyaki and thought it was all delicious. Would certainly revisit if given the opportunity.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank beezkneezbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

First of all, the food there is not authentic. I would say that it is a japanese cuisine adapted for the western palates. However, it is fresh and quite good. Also, the cocktail I chose, a yuzu mule, was excellent! It had a nice flavour and it was perfectly balanced.

I also loved the architecture and decorations. It is a hipster place but it didn't bother me. I like this kind of aesthetics. Some may think it is too dark, but I thought it gave the place a certain "cozinness".

However, there is a bad point I would like to highlight there. And this is about the service. I have never left any negative comment for a restaurant/hotel and I am not a difficult customer. My friends recommended me this restaurant! But as soon as my mother and I entered the place, we had the feeling that we were not welcomed there. It was around 7pm and the restaurant was nearly empty of customers. However, there were at least 4 staff members at the bar and none of them even bothered to say "hello", nor did they smile. And they saw us entering! A simple "hello" is always appreciated...
Also, when the waiter/barman came to clear away, he just mumbled something like " 'tis good? k nice". Like he didn't care. Well, at least he asked... Oh, and when we left, he didn't say "good bye" either.
I understand that this is a self-service restaurant. But more than having good food, I think that having a good behaviour at work is what makes people coming back. Even fast-food chains understand that.

It is a pity that such a beautiful place with a nice approach to japanese food is decaying because of these behaviours. My mother and I have been to numerous places and we have never been that much unwelcomed. I sincerely hope this will change soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank RinnieLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

Asian fusion with a twist. The food is absolutely delicious and the atmosphere relaxed and cozy. Staff is awesome and the pitcher cocktails never disappoint. A must in Brussels

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Ruxandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kumiko Izakaya also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Kumiko Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing