We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, excellent service! (no a/c and no credit cards)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Publico

Publico
Ranked #29 of 3,492 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good food, excellent service! (no a/c and no credit cards)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Sometimes service makes up for what the food lacked!
I'm not saying food wasn't good, it was very good, but the excellent service provided by Francois added a pinch of salt that made the mix just perfect.

The restaurant is small, we were seated inside although we reserved by phone. The problem with setting inside was there were no air condition in a day that hit mid 30s centigrade. It was hot and once our starters were served, we were not comfortable at all with the heat.

Franchise and his crew made a table free for us outside (we were 4, 2 adults and 2 teenagers). So we took our main course outside which was much better with a good breeze.

I was also surprised to learn they don't accept credit cards which was not mentioned anywhere but on a small sticker my son noticed while we were sitting inside. So I had to run out for cash from the nearest ATM machine in the metro station. I didn't t like it, but it wasn't a big issue.

Overall food was good, by wife had a pasta plate with vegetables, I had the chicken in the oven with vegetables as well, and my kids had the Belgian steak which was good as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank T2-Terminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    226
    51
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with Top-Notch Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Right next to another TripAdvisor favorite, Fin de Siecle, Publico may win my vote for its ambiance, excellent food, and incredible service. Along with several friends, we had a great time eating the great Belgian food as well as joking around with Francois, who is written about in many of the other reviews here. The wait staff will do everything they can to ensure you have a great night.

It was a great way to spend my last night in Brussels.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BrewCityGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stumbled across Publico in the late afternoon (4pm) when looking for somewhere to have a late lunch. By this time we were starving! The food is delicious, there are lots of options to choose from and they are good sized meals. Francois was very helpful and whilst providing exceptional service, provided us with lots of great recommendations of bars to visit in Brussels! A great find!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LozCAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant of our Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We came across this place while walking around looking for somewhere to have dinner. We read the menu and decided this would be a good place based on the food and price. We were not disappointed! François, Costa and Tom made our night. The service, atmosphere and food were all fantastic. The cocktails were great, the food was delicious -- had the bruschetta and the steak salad, the atmosphere was nice inside and out, and the service with a smile was perfect! Ended up drinking at the bar after our dinner and had a great night out! Would recommend going here if you're ever in Brussels!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect ambiance , perfect food, perfect people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The food is always delicious and very reasonably priced, serving time is always very good and the staff is making the very good ambiance even better.The people are friendly and smiley and they take care of all the needs when it comes to food! Definitely one of the best restaurants in town.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank athanasia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Publico also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Publico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing