We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Green Curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Lotus Thai

Au Lotus Thai
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Au Lotus Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #886 of 3,521 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Green Curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time at Lotus Thai. The service was really good. We wanted to sit outside to enjoy one of the last summer evenings of the year and although the terrace was not set, they arranged everything for us. The vegetarian Green curry dish was great and it was not too expensive. I'll definitely go back

Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good overall and good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here and with so many other thai restaurants on this Street it was by chance we choose here. Good value lunch menu but we decided to order from the main menu. Good prawn cakes. Then had a noodle dish wish was big and packed with flavour. Also had a rice dish which was ok. The rice wasn't what I expected but it was tasty all the same. The lady who served us was friendly although she didn't have much English. This small restaurant seemed more authentic than the others on the street and the food seemed fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very good restaurant. Fresh, tasty,of a very high quality and well presented. And not very expensive! I loved it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djojo971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cheap and delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My partner and I chose this thai restaurant over the many other around it simply based on price. We paid 32 euros for a beer, 25cl of wine, two main meals (prawn fried rice and chicken with blackbean sauce and chilli) and a large bowl of rice. The food was fresh and delicious and we left extremely satsfied. They give you two types of thai prawn crackers complimentary which was also nice.

As for atmosphere, there is nothing too special. It is very basic and a bit outdated but considering the price and the food we didn't mind at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeseyPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food, Thai beers and chopsticks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Just had a meal there and I have to say it was really nice and reasonably priced for Brussels. I had the dim sum selection to start and the chicken & Lemongrass...would have preferred it spicier but it was all really fresh & tasty.
The serving staff (ie one lady) was really nice, she didnt seem to speak English but we got by in my dubious French...the menu was in French & English which helped.

Can't say how it compares to the other Thai places on the street but overall I would say it was definitely worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank pikepete
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Au Lotus Thai also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Au Lotus Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing