We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sweetest Receptionist and A Bistro with Church Nearby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Les Ecrins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Les Ecrins to your Saves list
The Residence Les Ecrins
Rue du Rouleau 15, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 218 Brussels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sweetest Receptionist and A Bistro with Church Nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was here back in 2011, and still remember the wonderful man at reception named Steven. He always greeted me in the morning and knew I liked my coffee (he would bring it to me without asking since he knew the answer was always "yes"). I don't know if he still is there, but even if he isn't, I am sure that all the staff they hire here are just as nice and helpful. I stayed here for three nights, but I wish I stayed longer. The room I had was small, but the price was very affordable, especially for the lovely area I was in. There is a bistro (red exterior) overlooking a church a few blocks away, and this is where I continued my coffee fix.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midnightdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    133
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
140
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Loved this hotel. Edward was very kind, helpful and can offer good travel tips. Had an issue with one room on our first night and he immediately moved us. Room 124 in main building (double) was stylish and spacious. Room 120 in next door building was perfect for a family of 4. Large bedroom with a double and a sitting room with a double pull out couch. Rooms were clean and bright. No air conditioning, but fans are provided, was all you needed. Free Wifi. Breakfast was included. Perfect for us, consisting of buns, croissants, bread, jams, fruit, orange juice, delicious coffee and hot chocolate. Area was great. Nearby are plenty of restaurants and cafés for dinner and drinks. Was a short walk to the Grand Place. Metro stop down the street. Price was affordable. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

From the first contact I had with Guy on email, our experience with Les Ecrins was delightful. I spent a great deal of time looking for the "perfect" place to stay in Brussels (i.e. reasonably priced, in a good neighbourhood within walking distance of the city sights, appealing and attractive) and Les Ecrins checked all the boxes.

The name means "jewel box" and this place, for us, was a little gem. It's not fancy or elegant, the bathroom is a tiny bit on the worn side but those are small details for us. Best to mention the wonderfully amicable hosts, Edward and Guy (we met Edward during our stay) and how helpful, friendly and warm he was during our stay. It felt like coming home to a friend every time we returned to our hotel.

The location is also perfect. Tucked away on a quiet street within a stone's throw of St. Catherine's Church and Metro (that connects you to the airport), lots of good restaurants on neighbouring streets and a 10 minute walk to the Grand Place.

The breakfasts were lovely, the room spacious and comfortable and all was exactly what we were looking for in a hotel in this fabulous city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have to say I was surprised at how crowded and dirty the main tourist strip in Brussels was. We got off the train and walked to this hotel and I wasn't feeling great about my choice. Then we got to the lovely St Catherine's square and found the hotel and everything was immediately good again. The service was quick and pleasant and helpful. The room was huge even by US standards. It is close to restaurants and an easy walk to all the main tourist sites of Brussels. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FamilyJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Located in older building on a very quite side street, this is a small hotel/B&B with NO elevator tight steps and lovely rooms. I booked a room with a private bathroom (ensuite) and was very happy. The room was nice and the bathroom modern, Edward the owner is extremely accommodating and does his best to make your stay memorable. European continental breakfast is served and it is more than adequate (however, the coffee served leaves a lot to be desired), there is a small outdoor eating area that you can sit and enjoy your morning meal. The location is simply superb and you are within walking distance of almost all the sights. Free Wifi is offered, I would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruisinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I loved this place-- though I was initially surprised because I booked through Hostel World and expected a hostel, this was so much nicer than a hostel. The two men that were running Residence les Ecrins were so friendly and helpful, and really talkative which is always a plus when you're a solo traveler. The neighborhood was really nice and a short walk (5-10 minutes) away from the Grand Place, the central plaza of the city. They had all kinds of maps and information, and the breakfast in the mornings was very nice as well. No complaints, and I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Brussels!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CRiley231011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We loved Residence Les Ecrins and would highly recommend it to everyone.
Our stay was 4 nights, April 2014.
The location is excellent, easy to get to/from via transport system and fantastic for walking to anywhere in the city, approx 10 minutes front the Grand Place + 2 metro stations within 5 & 10 minutes walk.
We had a spot of difficulty to find it at first but nothing major. It may help if the instructions told you the lines to catch on metro (it's a little confusing between metro and trams as the maps aren't very clear) and that there is a Citadines hotel on the corner but we found it without too much bother.
The hosts (we had Edward mostly then Guy on our last day) were friendly and helpful and were very nice to us even when we returned late at night and found we'd left the door card/key in our room (sorry Edward). Edward was also very helpful in finding an emergency dentist for which my partner was extremely grateful!
The room was wonderful and spotlessly clean. We had everything we could need - no tea/coffee facility but we only had to ask and were given what we needed.
Breakfast was included so that was excellent; pastries, bread, jam, cheese etc and plenty to keep you going until lunch plus the breakfast room was also lovely, fresh and clean.
We will definitely stay again if we return to Brussels and will be recommending others to stay here - a lovely residence, beautifully clean, great service, great location and very reasonably priced. Thanks again for a lovely stay. Carol & Paul.

Room Tip: Ours was on the 1st floor & that was a bonus as there is no lift so if you have older travellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IWOM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Brussels Welcome Hotel
#8 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#55 of 197 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
1.2 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#3 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 17 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 stars 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Les Ecrins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Les Ecrins

Property: The Residence Les Ecrins
Address: Rue du Rouleau 15, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 218 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Les Ecrins is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking distance from the famous Grand Place, 15 minutes from E.C.Headquarters.It is nearby the St Catherine subway station and 20 minutes away from the national airport Zaventem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Residence Les Ecrins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Les Ecrins Hotel Brussels
Residence Les Ecrins Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing