We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Residence Les Ecrins
Ranked #67 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I booked a single standard for three nights and was pleasantly surprised to see that I was upgraded to a spacious triple with one double bed and a single bed. The room was on the second floor facing the street. The hotel is on a small residential street about half a block from the St. Catherine metro stop. Although the windows are new and have double paned glass, some noise from cars passing over the cobblestone street can be heard. However, because it is a quiet residential street, there is no noise to be heard after 9 or 10 at night, so light sleepers should have no problem.
The bathroom is spacious and well appointed. The cabinet is a cute shabby chic and the bathroom has a full shower and bathtub (uncommon in European hotels) with a towel warmer that came in handy on the cold November nights of my stay.
The breakfast includes several different types of bread (all fresh and delicious) and spreads with fruit, coffee and orange juice. It's served by the host, who is gracious and friendly and provides a warm welcome to all his guests. I arrived in the morning and was allowed to check in. Edward gave me a map with great instructions on how to get to the places I was going.
The neighborhood is where an old fish market used to be and now has a lot of really good seafood restaurants. If you need anything, there is a Carrefour's grocery store on the square about a block in the opposite direction from the metro entrance. St. Catherine's metro is on the 1 and 5 lines that are just 2 stops from the Gare Central, the train station that will take you to the airport and anywhere in Europe that the trains run. For these reasons, you can't beat the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank faithk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 403 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here in November while traveling through Belgium. We were flying in and out of Brussels so stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 1 night at the end. When we arrived, we were given an excellent description of sites to see and a great map of the city; very useful. The first 2 nights we had an economy room which was uncomfortably small for 2 people. I'm used to B&B's from other travel in Europe but have never experienced something like this. Despite the size of the room, it had the essential ammenities. On our return at the end of vacation, I asked to be upgraded to a larger room and was given a huge room that also included a living room with tv and sofa. Was very spacious and a great way to end our vacation; definitley exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was decent but only consisted of breads and pastries (as well as coffee/tea and orange juice). I'm not a huge fan of bread so it would have been nice to have other options (typically have also been served eggs, yogurt, muesli at other B&Bs). Overall, a decent place for a fair price to stay in Brussels.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank runnergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

It is always nice to have such a helpful friendly person helping you when you arrive in a strange city in the rain. Our stay was very cozy and we needed for nothing. We did however have a room in the attic (some would call it the top floor, I like to refer to it as the attic). We had a window that was on the angled ceiling which was a little strange, but it did not discourage us from our stay. It was very clean and included breakfast. Very close to the metro stop at St. Catherine's, less than a 5 minute walk. Very many seafood restaurants in this part of town, which was great for me because it was one of the main things I wanted to do while in Brussels. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're staying on a higher floor be warned there is no lift. Also, bring your own shampoo &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed during the beginning of October. Was glad we were allowed to check in early. As previous reviewers have stated, it has several floors and no elevator. Traveling internationally with a large bag each and being middle age (but not in bad physical shape), this was challenging to carry the suitcases up a flight. Originally, we were going to be placed on the 3rd floor (US floor)...and after looking at the staircase, we asked if there was something lower down. Luckily, we were accommodated. The room opened directly into the bathroom...which could have been interesting to the poor person inside. There was a need to step up into the room...and, if not careful, it was easy to be forgotten when exiting...creating a surprised quick exit. The breakfast was continental...but had a nice selection. The owner was very pleasant and anxious to help out when directions or eating recommendations were needed.

Room Tip: Ask about which floor you will be on...and watch that first step! We were on the backside of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twofidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We got an upgrade from our original booking, therefore our impression of this place might be a little bit biased. We stayed in a very spacious apartment, clean, comfortable and well localized (15mins walk to the Grand Place). The breakfast was very very good!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is 3 mins away from a metro station (St Catherine) and 10 min walk to city center. Restaurants and bars close are very good. There are also supermarkets nearby. The wi-fi connection in my room was not strong, but it could be used at the reception with no concerns. I recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafaeldc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecrins, Gérant at The Residence Les Ecrins, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hello,
We had some spots in the residence with a weak wifi signal but since the middle of October,
In order to satisfy our guests 100%, we asked to an informaticien to improve the wifi signal and now, the signal is strong everywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Arriving at the hotel is very easy as it is very close to the Ste Catherine/St Katelijne metro stop which is two stops from the Gare Centrale/ Centraal Station. Our host, Edward was really lovely and managed to sort out things for us even though we were early arriving at the hotel. The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from the Grand Place/Grote Markt, and the area around (Place Ste Catherine) is surrounded by charming seafood restaurants and cafes which are open quite late.

The rooms themselves are very clean and comfortable. I had a single room with shared toilets/shower facilities and always found them clean and rarely engaged. My family had the double rooms and found the bathrooms and rooms spacious and spotless. The only downside is that the rooms that face the street will always have traffic rushing past along the cobbled stones (and a rubbish truck early around 7:00 in the morning on a Monday) which can get quite loud. Avoid the room immediately on the left as you come in (if you can) as you will hear the door opening/closing throughout the evening/night as guests come in and out.

Breakfast was lovely which fresh croissants and pastries. There is fresh fruit available and lovely coffee and a selection of teas. More than enough food and endless coffee and we were stuffed everyday.

Wifi is available throughout the building for free, and Edward is very helpful with a highlighter and a map to sort you out with the best walking tour for your needs.

All in all, a lovely place to stay centrally in Brussels that has much more charm and character than a faceless hotel. Only downside is it can get a bit noisy if you're a light sleeper. Fortunately for me, I'm not, so I had a most lovely stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street, and especially the room on the ground floor by the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefmignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#114 of 199 in Brussels
349 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel de Fierlant
Hotel de Fierlant
#1 of 1 in Vorst
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esperance
Esperance
#86 of 199 in Brussels
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
0.3 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
0.8 mi away
The Augustin
The Augustin
#35 of 199 in Brussels
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Les Ecrins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Les Ecrins

Address: Rue du Rouleau 15, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#22 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#27 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $81 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Les Ecrins is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking distance from the famous Grand Place, 15 minutes from E.C.Headquarters.It is nearby the St Catherine subway station and 20 minutes away from the national airport Zaventem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Residence Les Ecrins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Les Ecrins Hotel Brussels
Residence Les Ecrins Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing