We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rudest service - Worst place I've stayed, you get what you pay for” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence Les Ecrins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Residence Les Ecrins
Ranked #59 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rudest service - Worst place I've stayed, you get what you pay for”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I got back to my room before 1 am one night and my key card wasn't working. I had to ring them from the intercom outside the front door on the street as cars were passing by and was yelled at and called dumb for not being able to hear or understand him telling me that I had to go to a door behind the stairs for a backup key card that was taped onto the wall! And he hung up on me the first time after telling me this I had to ring back which is when I was told that I obviously wasn't the brightest kid in the house growing up! Most unprofessional and rudest host I've met in all my travels. And what professional guesthouse has a key card taped onto a wall that anyone in the place can access??

The room was also awful, very dark, old carpet, uncomfortable bed, shower was either too hot or not warm enough. And they gave me the front room by the front door where you could hear everyone going in and out.

Breakfast also not the best. You get a tiny cup of OJ, a cup of coffee and a plate of mixed breads and some spreads and some fruit.

Walking back late at night to this place also didn't feel the safest.

Worst place I've ever stayed. Highly unrecommendable.

Room Tip: Avoid room 120 and this place altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lattestone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecrins, Propriétaire at The Residence Les Ecrins, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear customer

You stayed 2 nights with us without any complains. All our rooms have been remodeled and have new beds, double glazing and much more. I am sure that most of your comments are related to your dissatisfaction ( how to use a keycard ) then to the real state of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    138
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
145
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel is an easy walk from the north train station where we came in and in a nice, quiet neighborhood but just minutes from restaurants and bars. Check in was easy, and we walked upstairs to a very spacious room with a beautiful view of the street and the church to the side, even some flowers just outside the window. The room was comfortable, plenty large, and with the bathroom bigger than the one I have at home. We walked to Grand Place and the center of Brussels that was just a short walk away. Breakfast was nothing spectacular, but it was tasty food, and enough to get us going. After looking extensively, I am convinced this hotel is the best value in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We saw all the good reviews of this hotel on Tripadvisor and decided to rely on them for our first trip to Brussels. And I am so glad we did. This is a wonderful place to stay for the tourist with a budget. The room was clean and very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was immaculate and modern. Breakfast was plentiful, with coffee, juice, lots of fresh bread and pastries, and fresh fruit. The small dining room was charming and a little outdoor terrace was attached. The location is extremely convenient and while we were skeptical of the claims that one could walk to the main tourist attractions in 10-15 minutes it turned out to be true. And the metro system is quite close by; the owner helped us figure it out. He was very helpful and accomodating. All in all, I am not sure you could do better for the very reasonable price.

Room Tip: No elevator so be prepared to climb narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
273 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were very happy with our stay. Nice clean room with en-suite bathroom. Friendly staff!
The breakfast was nice with pastries and different spreads.
We could hear some guest but we didn't see many other guests,
The location is really good, close to excellent restaurants but not to close to the busiest streets.
There are lots of guide books in the breakfast room if you need some inspiration.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place was fantastic. The man that runs the place (cannot remember his name sorry), was one of the most helpful people we came across out of any hotel we stayed at across Europe. We stayed in a room with a shared bathroom, but we never had to wait for anyone. The room was nice and clean, and the included breakfast was basic, but very nice everything we needed. Also, if you are staying around christmas time, the markets are literally 50 meters away from the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22_Kristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A decent place to stay, good value, nothing bad but nothing impressive. I was more impressed with my hotel in Amsterdam the day prior. Breakfast included but it is quite minimal, the French continental style of mainly coffee and bread. The breakfast area is quite small; the manager serves you your bfast plate. There is a bowl of fruit in the room if you look around.I found it a bit noisy but I sleep well anyway. Internet wireless terrible. Happy with the bill. You can walk to the prime center area, which I did (it's a good walk); also two metro stations nearby, and it is only 1 or 2 stops to get to the center area (gare central)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad_timo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

nThis is a lovely place to stay in a historic neighborhood. I had a quiet single room (double bed) en suite on the second floor in an adjacent building overlooking a garden. You are given a room key and an entrance key for the outside door to the building. The room layout was a little quirky since you walk through the bathroom to get into the room. However, that was no problem. The bathroom is updated with nice shower and very clean. The room was easy to reserve over the internet and Guy and Edward were very helpful. Greeted me with an excellent map and made a great recommendation for a seafood restaurant nearby for dinner. As others have noted, the breakfast room is very pleasant and breakfast was nice with coffee, juice, bread, pastries, and fruit. Free WiFi worked well. I had not been in Brussels before so did have some difficulty finding the hotel from the metro. However, once I found my way around, it's very easy and only a block from the metro. Close enough to the Grand Place by metro or walking but nice to be away from the tourist area. I felt comfortable there as a middle-aged single woman and would highly recommend this pleasant and affordable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#72 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.1 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Les Ecrins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Les Ecrins

Property: The Residence Les Ecrins
Address: Rue du Rouleau 15, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brussels
#6 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#22 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#27 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Les Ecrins is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking distance from the famous Grand Place, 15 minutes from E.C.Headquarters.It is nearby the St Catherine subway station and 20 minutes away from the national airport Zaventem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Residence Les Ecrins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Les Ecrins Hotel Brussels
Residence Les Ecrins Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing