We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Residence Les Ecrins
Ranked #60 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quirky and Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed in a double room (single occupancy) for two nights and had a very nice stay. The room was in the house 3 down from the "main" building. The room was quite samll, but lovingly decorated.
Quirky - well, when you put on the TV the light in the shower (and the vent) went on, but this was no problem....
I had no problem with the bathroom, as others have reported, mine worked just fine and everything was proper. Quirky - stepping into the room you're in the bathroom and go to the bedroom through it.
Breakfast was nice (good bread and patisseries).
The Host/receptionist was super friendly.
I will definetely go again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gessy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    138
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
146
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was sweet! Great location and very helpful staff. The rooms were very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The only downside was the towels were quite worn and need to be replaced. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed staying here quite a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeredithFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Reasonably priced updated and will stay there again. The breakfast was included and very good. The people who ran the hotel were personable, funny, charming and made you feel comfortable. If you stay at the apartment, just ask for one on the first or second floor.

Les Ecrins is within walking distance of the Le Grand-Place

Room Tip: Tell Guy....not too many stairs if possible...still worth the climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belchmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent 7 nights in a one bedroom apartment attached to Residence Les Ecrins. I think I made the right choice.

The apartment was well appointed. As you walk in, you have the loungeroom in front of you (it has fold out lounge bed, TV, coffee table, arm chair). The WC is to the left of the entrance way. Once inside the loungeroom, the kitchen is through a doorway to your left. It is well appointed, with a fridge, microwave, stovetop, toaster, coffee maker, kettle, pots & pans, crockery & cutlery -plus a small breakfast table with two chairs. The bedroom is off to the right of the loungeroom - with double bed (two singles pushed together), wardrobe and desk. A small bathroom with over-bath shower and vanity are walled off within the room. The bed was not the most comfy I've ever slept on, but it did the trick!

In all, it had everything you could ask for, for a comfortable stay. An iron and ironing board were made availbable upon request.

As others have mentioned, there is no lift - so be prepared to lug your bags up some narrow staircases. It's also worth mentioning that breakfast does not come free with the apartments tariff - as it does with rooms in the main building. But there's a little supermarket 50 meters down the road where you can buy your own breaky stuff (and a tea/coffee supply) pretty cheaply.

The free wifi was a real bonus.

The St Catherines area is terrific. It's a pleasant, flat 10-15 minute walk to Grand Place. St Catherines has its own metro stop - and the system is very easy to negotiate (make sure you have coin for the machines). The area appears to be quite safe, and far enough away from the tourist hot-spots to avoid most of the noise!! Good eateries are in plentiful supply.

I booked via email, and was very impressed with the friendly, prompt communications. And we were able to agree a rate better than I could find on the internet.

In short, it's rare to find a nice, unflashy apartment within a national capital, for around 100 euros per night. Don't go expecting plush - expect functional. Brussels is a great little city, and I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel, the area and the hosts!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My friends and I stayed in a four-person apartment for three nights and enjoyed our accommodations. The street the hotel is located on can be a little difficult to find- so, if you are walking from the train station (it wasn’t a bad walk), make sure you have the directions ahead of time, instead of trying to wing it ;) The apartment was nicer than we expected- there was one bed, one pull-out sofa, and breakfast (assorted breads) was brought to our door everyday. The apartment had a fridge, stove, television, free wifi, and a balcony.

We had some of our best nights in Brussels, and having a nice, spacious apartment to come back to each day certainly helped.

FYI this hotel is also considered a hostel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a charming little guesthouse in the St Catherine area of central Brussels and good value for money. When I arrived, I was upgraded to a double room with toilet/shower for the price of a single without so that was a great start! The room was clean, comfortable, warm and very quiet. Les Ecrins is situated a stone’s throw from a metro stop so the transport connections were ideal. Breakfast was continental but the pastries and bread were delicious. I stayed here a couple of times over ten years ago but was glad to find it hadn’t changed a lot and the standard of the rooms and service were as good as I remembered. Would return again and also recommend to anyone who’s on a budget in Brussels, it’s not a cheap city to visit but if you can cut costs on a room then there’s more money left over to sample all the quality food, drink and wonderful architecture Brussels has to offer. Thank you to the staff at Les Ecrins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BogsideBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed at Les Ecrins in Brussels...Very quiet place and extremely clean. Great location, close to Ste-Catherine subway station. The hosts Guy and Edward were most helpful in finding places to visit, how to get there and suggesting a wonderful restaurant..La Boussole..(just around the corner).Would definitely go back...
Jean-Paul C. Fort Lauderdale Florida.

Room Tip: No elevator..so if you have lots of luggage take the room on the main floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanPaul225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#7 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#74 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#57 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jam Hotel Brussels
Jam Hotel Brussels
#1 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Les Ecrins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Les Ecrins

Property: The Residence Les Ecrins
Address: Rue du Rouleau 15, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brussels
#6 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#22 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#27 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Les Ecrins is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking distance from the famous Grand Place, 15 minutes from E.C.Headquarters.It is nearby the St Catherine subway station and 20 minutes away from the national airport Zaventem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Residence Les Ecrins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Les Ecrins Hotel Brussels
Residence Les Ecrins Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing