We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Ranked #111 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I managed to get this hotel for 2 nights on the hotels website for €194 excluding breakfast and excluding cleaning, being there for only 2 nights having my room cleaned didn't seem like it would be worth paying the extra money for.

On first impressions the location of the hotel is perfect, it is located one street behind the Grand Place, and some of the hotel rooms have a view of the buildings in the square which is lit up of a night.

The hotel itself is clean but very basic. The room was OK, the size of it was fine. The decor is quite old fashioned and not modernised at all. The bathroom was a good size, clean and modern. The view from our room was over some scruffy rooftops but being in the centre the view was as expected. The other couple we came with had a view of the Grand Market.

The staff were friendly and it was a 24 hour reception. You had to leave your key there before you went out. Check in was 3pm and checkout 11am. They held our bags for us after checkout, which was good.

The hotel had a sign at reception stating a double room was €220 a night!

I would recommend this hotel for the location, if you want more than a basic hotel this is not for you. The price I paid I believe is the top price I would pay for this hotel and I would only pay this price due to the location. I would definately not pay the €220 price per night stated at reception.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room facing the grand market you will get a great view, although can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danele85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 734 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location, just minutes from the Grand Place and other shopping areas. The room is quite large and comfortable. The bathroom although old but clean and large as well. The service was excellent and overall I had a great stay there. I would definitely recommend this place and will stay there again the next time I'm in Brussels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is clean and basic and provides minimum amenities but it is in great location for Central Rail Station and it is minutes walk to the Grand Place.

Breakfast is a limited choice self service buffet.

There are many restaurants to choose from in the surrounding narrow streets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

There is nothing fancy about this hotel. Not at all. But belive me, I have been nearly 100 times to Brussels over the years and most hotels are either total crap, noisy and generally terrible, or to pricey, Marriot and other expensive places for Americans and sorts. But this little hotel - a decent three star one - has in my opinion got it all. Almost (come to that later). I suppose a lot of people like myself come to Brussels for business. And this location is absolutely the best, the EU area within reasonable walking distance, A la Mort Subite around the corner, Grand Place like 50 meters away. Rooms are clean, most of them silent, breakfast good enough (you should let the eggs be in the bowl for 7-8 minutes though to get them soft boiled...) and staff very friendly. And it is affordable. Very good value for money compared to most hotels in this city. Yes I should give it four stars. If it wasn't for the burled blankets (I hope my English is coming out correct here...) You have to drag the white bed sheet over your head more or less to keep it away from you. But Ok, that is managable, and I will stick to my little Brussels favourite as long as I do business with the EU

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karlgoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, literally right next to the Grand Place and all the restaurants and shopping that go with it. The staff was great and very helpful. The rooms were average, but clean. If you are on a budget and just need somewhere to sleep and shower, then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just got home from Brussels and stayed at hotel Aris. The hotel is very clean and staff were very friendly. The hotel is very close to everything, grand place is 50 meters away and grand market square is almost as you step out of hotel doors. The price was amazing just 185 euros for 3 nights, didn't expect this hotel to be as nice as it was due to the low price but was very surprised. Decor very basic and could possibly do with a touch up but overall amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellyp04uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked a three night stay at the Aris for a long weekend with friends, looking for somewhere in a good location at a reasonable price. This hotel delivered 100% on both counts.

We arrived at Central Station after travelling from the airport late in the evening, the hotel is only about a 5 minute walk from the station which is incredibly convenient. The location is simply fantastic, just steps away from the main tourist sights - Grand Palace is effectively just around the corner, Mannekin Pis is a 5 minute walk, Delirium Cafe and Rue de la Bouchers is also just around the corner. You also have all the chocolate shops, beer shops, cafes and restaurants right on your doorstep. Generally we found the location very convenient for our stay, allowing us to quickly go back to the room several times a day to refresh and drop off shopping.

The hotel itself certainly not the best, the rooms are incredibly dated and everything is generally quite old fashioned. It is not the usual sort of place I would stay. That said, seeing past the dated aspect, the accommodation is generally very acceptable for our short stay. The rooms are clean and reasonably comfortable, and the furniture is in good shape.

One thing that did impress me about the rooms was the large windows which can be opened fully, which was great in the morning when the sun is shining.

Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel if you get a good price. The location in brussels is second to none and incredibly convenient, and on balance I would say this probably makes it a better option than a similarly priced but more plush hotel which is located further away.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street have the best views but are also the noisiest especially on a weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#88 of 199 in Brussels
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#101 of 199 in Brussels
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agora Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.0 mi away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#138 of 199 in Brussels
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aris Grand Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aris Grand Place Hotel

Address: Rue Marche aux Herbes 78-80 Grasmarkt | Rue Marche aux Herbes 78-80, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $77 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aris Grand Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of Brussels, Hotel Aris is 5 minutes' walk away from the Gare Centrale and public transport (tram, bus, metro). This makes it very easy for you to get to the heart of the European quarter or to the Atomium. Just leave Hotel Aris to find your happiness, whatever it may be: a nice little café or a Michelin starred restaurant, trendy bars and old bistros, Belgian beers, exhibitions, stately homes and quarters. Even if you're on a tight schedule, you'll have time to see all the sights that can't be missed: our Grand Place, so beautiful it will take your breath away (+/- 100m away), Manneken Pis (+/- 500m), Brussels' most international "Kets" and the superb Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert (+/- 50m away). Just a few steps away there is also the museum quarter and the Sablon, a square full of trendy bars, exclusive boutiques and experts in everything from chocolate to antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aris Grand Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing