We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the location only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Ranked #114 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent one night at the hotel, in transit for our next flight. The hotel is very well located, very close to the Grande-Place. The rate was good, too. Apart from that, nothing to recommend it. The room was relatively clean, but furniture is old, as are the sheets on the bed. The paint on the windowsill was flaked. Overall, it seemed to lack maintenance. But it could be OK if the price is good and comfort is not your priority.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Jo_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Aris Grand Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 723 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is round the corner from a main square, it is very convenient. I had room on the most top floor. The window towards Grand-Place, gave very good sights, but also is very noisy, on the area there was a night concert. There are old furniture in the room, but bathroom equipment in a full order. Also it was pure. However disgusting old pillow and a blanket spoiled all positive impression of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sola248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We only stayed here for one night. The room is very spacious as well as the bathroom. The bathroom had a bath with a shower attached but the shower was powerful still. Room and bathroom were very clean.
The room is quite basic and could have done with a duvet instead of a blanket and sheet but you can control the heat in your room. However it is very good value for money. It's right in the centre and is a 5 minute walk from the main station so it's in a perfect location.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Impressive location which is what you are really paying for. Being in the city centre there is no way of getting away from the noise (and it is definitely noisy at night). Our room was stuffy so we had to decide whether to not sleep because of the warmth or not sleep because of the noise.

Was not a fan of the bed/s - two singles pushed together with one flimsy flat pillow each. Room was clean but definitely lacked personality. Was not impressed with the 10 euro per day fee for wifi - rip off! We were only here two nights thank goodness.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lel_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We booked this Hotel online and paid in full immediately so as to receive a discount. It was very reasonably priced considering (what we had yet to realize) the location and condition of the hotel. We arrived in Brussels after 4 weeks in London through a study abroad program, a few days in Scotland in an awful hostel, and a few days in Paris a decent hotel. Needless to say, we were tired and had seen both the good and bad in Europe thus far.

This hotel felt like the Ritz after weeks of traveling. It was extremely clean. The room was large compared to our hotel in Paris! There was a desk, tv, two beds, a big closet, and a recently redone and clean bathroom. It was comparable to a room at a Hampton Inn-type hotel in America. The hallways and lobby were nicely and simply decorated and maintained. The front desk staff (young folks) were accommodating and friendly... they gave us tons of maps and found us the bus tour, as well as guided us to the local grocery store and beauty supply store.

We were impressed. Brussels was a perfect stop to casually browse and to relax at this hotel a little bit before we continued on our travels.

Best of all, however, is the location. WOW! Steps away from the square, restaurants, shopping, tour stops (we ended up doing an off/on bus tour around Brussels that had a stop RIGHT there) and all big tourist spots, we could not have asked for more. The outside of the building is very nice and I would have thought that anybody paying there must have paid a lot- but it was very reasonable! We didn't have any sort of spectacular view because we were higher up and only saw the roof top of the next building over, but with the location and the niceness and the price of the hotel, we didn't care!

Overall, I definitely recommend! Especially for budget travelers!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My complains about a room: someone's hair on the pillow, strange smell, very stuffy (conditioner is not controlled), wi-fi is not free (EUR 10/day). But the location is good.. so if you don't care about comfort room it can be a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katyabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our room was very small (typically European), but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean with a good shower. It overlooked the rooftops and you could open the windows to let in fresh air. Our room was toward the back of the hotel, so it was quiet.The tv was laughable (probably a 9-inch screen) sitting on a tiny table. We only stayed overnight and didn't eat at the hotel as we had a early morning train to catch. The location of the hotel is excellent, close to the Grand Palace and the pubs and restaurants. We went for the Christmas Markets, but there weren't very many and it was a small market. The room rate was very good, considering other hotels just a few doors away were twice as much. If you only need a decent bed and shower, than this is the place.

Room Tip: The hotel does have an elevator so choose a room on the upper floors to avoid any noise.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#90 of 198 in Brussels
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#99 of 198 in Brussels
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#136 of 198 in Brussels
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agora Brussels
Hotel Agora Brussels
#23 of 198 in Brussels
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aris Grand Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aris Grand Place Hotel

Address: Rue Marche aux Herbes 78-80 Grasmarkt | Rue Marche aux Herbes 78-80, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $74 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aris Grand Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of Brussels, Hotel Aris is 5 minutes' walk away from the Gare Centrale and public transport (tram, bus, metro). This makes it very easy for you to get to the heart of the European quarter or to the Atomium. Just leave Hotel Aris to find your happiness, whatever it may be: a nice little café or a Michelin starred restaurant, trendy bars and old bistros, Belgian beers, exhibitions, stately homes and quarters. Even if you're on a tight schedule, you'll have time to see all the sights that can't be missed: our Grand Place, so beautiful it will take your breath away (+/- 100m away), Manneken Pis (+/- 500m), Brussels' most international "Kets" and the superb Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert (+/- 50m away). Just a few steps away there is also the museum quarter and the Sablon, a square full of trendy bars, exclusive boutiques and experts in everything from chocolate to antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Aris Grand Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing