We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Ranked #116 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A friendly hotel in a perfect location just yards from the Grand Place and the local bars and restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate in booking this hotel again! Try and get a room with a view if you can, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravellingMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
There are newer reviews for Aris Grand Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 725 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

First of all, location of the hotel is great. It is so close to the Grand Place and the road that it is on is full of shops, bars and restaurants. No complaints there! I also found it to be relatively quiet at night, considering the location.
The hotel though is fairly basic and the beds very uncomfortable in small rooms. Bathroom was large and spacious however, no complaints about that.
The rooms certainly feel like they could do with some renovation and a good deep clean. The brown covers on the bed just screamed 1970's.
Breakfast was also horribly overpriced at 12 Euros.
Staff fine, never had any cause to complain to them and always seemed friendly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClovaTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Aris Grand Place on September 20th and 21st, 2012. We arrived in Brussels in the morning and took the train from the airport to the Brussels Central station. The hotel is very close to the train station, so it made for a very easy walk. Because it was so early, we could not check in but they did have a room where we could store our bags until we were ready to check in.

We filled out one form and then we were given a claim ticket for our bags and we headed off to explore the city. Later that afternoon we went back to get our room key and there was a long line of people checking in. We sat in the lobby for a few minutes and waited for the line to go away.

We had a room on the second floor and there was a small elevator which was nice. The room was very clean and basic. We asked for a double bed, but it was really just two twin beds pushed together. There was a desk area with a very small TV and there was a nice large “closet” with some hangers and storage space. The bathroom was basic, yet very clean and large by European standards. They did provide soap and shampoo.

We did not have any trouble sleeping; the bed was fairly comfortable. The hotel is on a very busy street so if you are a light sleeper you may want to bring ear plugs.

We did not eat the breakfast as we felt the price was pretty steep. There are a lot of dining options nearby. We did by one hour of internet for 5 euros. It was fast and reliable.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Brussels on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The only reason you would stay here is the location it's perfect. Close to all the main attractions. The rooms are simple, clean and the breakfast is the same. But when I arrived they said that they wore not expecting me until tomorrow and I would have to pay an extra night. I asked if I could use there computer "yes for a fee". When I showed the lady my reservation that proved I arrived on the correct day she still had to call her manager to give me a room without a charge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesjegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

i'll start with the only good thing in this hotel - the location.
it located 2 minutes from the grand place andless than 1 minute from all the restaurants and the bar.

on the other hand, you have to remmember that stying that close to those places means VERY NOISY AT NIGHT.
a specialy at weekends - it is actually difficult to sleep.

what leads me to the second point- the beds.
wow.
this is the WORST bed i ever slept on. for couples it is even worst, because the bed is like 2 diffrent twin beds.

cleaning - the rooms smells strange. especially the bath.
on the bed there was strange brown spot..like someone puke there.
they haven't change the bedding on my second night.

another thing about the bath - the hotel don't really provide you shower gel. even though i asked for twice. you have to go to the supermarket and BUY IT YOURSELF.
is this 3 stars hotel?!?!?!

1 day i came back to my room and find my tooth brash on the floor...i had to buy new one.
though
one of the elevators allways gets stuck - i saw 5 diffrent people stuck in it in 2 days!!!

LONG STORY SHORT - THIS IS 1 STAR HOTEL. NOT 3.
EVEN FOR THOSE WHO JUST WANT TO SLEEP HERE AND NOT EVEN TO GO SHOWER - THE BEDS ARE VERY BAD...
NOT RECCOMEND TO ANYONE TO STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ben_israel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I read a few reviews on here before I stayed in this hotel, and was a little skeptical of what we would find upon arrival, but the hotel exceeded all expectations. The staff were all friendly, the rooms were clean and spacious, and we even had a balcony in ours. Didn't eat in the hotel ad we were sampling some local diners, which are numerous in the local area as the hotel is only a minute walk from the Grand Place. Will definitely stay in again next time I'm in Brussels.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Demi_Volokov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights in September 2012. This hotel is located in a great location close to the grand palace and near one of the train stations( Brussels has 3 train stations). This was your average 3 star hotel. Clean, comfortable bed (pillows were small though) No free wifi, you had to pay an extra 10 euros a night for it. That is a little expensive when you can walk across the street, have coffee in the health food restaurant and check emails while you eat for no additional charge. Bathroom and shower were good with lots of water pressure. We also did not eat breakfast at this hotel as we found the health food coffe shop a much healthier option and cheaper than what the hotel wanted for their breakfast. Very good walking tour of Brussels is available every day from in front of the grand palace at around 1:30pm. Well worth the time and money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fireguy329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#90 of 198 in Brussels
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#100 of 198 in Brussels
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#136 of 198 in Brussels
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agora Brussels
Hotel Agora Brussels
#19 of 198 in Brussels
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aris Grand Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aris Grand Place Hotel

Address: Rue Marche aux Herbes 78-80 Grasmarkt | Rue Marche aux Herbes 78-80, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $74 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aris Grand Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of Brussels, Hotel Aris is 5 minutes' walk away from the Gare Centrale and public transport (tram, bus, metro). This makes it very easy for you to get to the heart of the European quarter or to the Atomium. Just leave Hotel Aris to find your happiness, whatever it may be: a nice little café or a Michelin starred restaurant, trendy bars and old bistros, Belgian beers, exhibitions, stately homes and quarters. Even if you're on a tight schedule, you'll have time to see all the sights that can't be missed: our Grand Place, so beautiful it will take your breath away (+/- 100m away), Manneken Pis (+/- 500m), Brussels' most international "Kets" and the superb Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert (+/- 50m away). Just a few steps away there is also the museum quarter and the Sablon, a square full of trendy bars, exclusive boutiques and experts in everything from chocolate to antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aris Grand Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing