We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marivaux Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Amigo(Brussels)
$317
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Brussels(Brussels)
$147
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Brussels City Centre(Brussels)(Great Value!)
$139
$121
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adagio Brussels Grand Place(Brussels)(Great Value!)
$154
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Radisson RED Brussels(Ixelles)(Great Value!)
$140
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Metropole(Brussels)
$137
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Brussels Bloom(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,384)
Filter reviews
2,384 results
Traveler rating
905
983
341
100
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
905
983
341
100
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grand placenice hotelshopping areaexcellent locationrecommend this hotelseparate toiletrue neuvespacious roomcity centregood sizewi fiminute walktrain stationstar hotelvisit brusselsconvenient locationshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
872 - 877 of 2,384 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the hotel and would definitely go again. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The reception wasn't as grand as I expected given the big arch at the entrance but the rooms were well proportioned and comfortable and ours was very quiet and even had a small outside area.

We did have a few niggles that stopped this hotel being top notch: the housekeeping could be a little hit and miss. There was a muddy foot print on our patio door sill (not ours) that went unnoticed for three days and towels hung behind the bathroom door also went unnoticed. And I have to say that in a 4 star hotel when I ask for more towels I expect them to be delivered, not get a call from housekeeping querying our request. The air con was not particularly effective (but to be fair it was silent) so the room got quite warm at night and opening the door meant braving the local mosquitoes (rub a slice of lime on the bite - works wonders!). The shower door leaked water alarmingly until we figured out you needed to pull the door and seal over the lip of the shower tray. The fridge was adequate but not very cold. The WiFI was very good but it was tedious having to sign in every half hour. The check in was late, 3pm, so I thought an extra hour on the check out would have been nice, rather than having to check out at 11am.

On the positive side however, the bed was fantastically comfortable, and HUGE. The room was a good size, with proper furniture instead of cheap plywood shelving, and having a separate bathroom and toilet was good. The rest of the room was clean and the bathroom and loo well lit and spotless and the hotel is generous with its toiletries. I liked having our own safe too and the dressing table drawers were lockable, plus there was a kettle so you could make tea and coffee. The hotel bar was not as expensive as I thought it would be, and if you put your drink on your room tab you get a 5% discount (so two large Red Label whiskeys came to €11.40 - a steal if you live in London!), just a shame it closed at 11.30pm and on Sunday (so no hotel restaurant and bar that day). The area was a short walk into the Grand Place, a 15mins lazy stroll at most. There was a huge and lively shopping area adjacent which ran down to the opera house and into the area around Grand Place, and some nice bars nearby. The TV channels encompassed Dutch, French and English speaking programmes. The staff were happy to check our bags in when we arrived early and on our last day were happy to call us a cab when we returned at 5pm to pick up our bags. They really were lovely. Overall, the negatives were negligible - we really enjoyed our stay at the Marivaux and felt very much at home.

Room Tip: We were in room 3110 at the back, and it was very quiet (and easy to find - it can be a rabbit warren).
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarchesaConsuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear MarchesaConsuela,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a detailed and lovely review. We have made note of your feedback which is helpful to continuously improve our services.

I am happy to read that you had the time to try our bar and, moreover, appreciated the details and services of the Marivaux. I take it you discovered a lot of things on your way to the Grand Place; I hope you enjoyed every moment of your journey.

We hope to constantly make you feel home for your stays in Brussels.

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is very centrally located, with a friendly staff. But the room is quite small, one towel was torn, and one of the electrical outlet didn't work. The room was also very noisy and we could speak with the people in the corridor directly from our room (with the door closed). The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 3421: you can hear everything from the corridor.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Flora248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Flora248,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Marivaux for your weekend in central Brussels. Thank you also for mentioning the electrical outlet as we will do another general check to fix that right away.
I hope to welcome you back for another weekend at the Marivaux Hotel!

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Location was very near the bus and tram stops. Few walks to the Metro station and 1 stop to Keleti. Hop on Hop off bus was located on the next street. Many Restaurants in the area too. Very clean and Great WIFI. Employees were very helpful and speaks English!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherylin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Cherylin P,

Thank you for your great comment! I hope you had a very good time and visit of Brussels.
We hope to see you again soon at the Marivaux Hotel.

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great hotel. Good sized rooms, very centrally located, very friendly staff.

Though I used the hotel primarily to sleep in as I was attending tomorrowland, I still had a great experience because of the warmth of the staff, right size of the rooms and all essential amenities in the room. The location was excellent as it involved just 109 mins walk to my pick up and drop off point and it was 15 mins away from Gran Palace, primary attraction in Brussels.

It is nicely connected to Brussels central station and hence ease of connection to the airport and is a 10 mins cab ride from Midi station and hence connection to rest of Europe using rail.

The hotel room had excellent wifi connectivity and speed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sid1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Sid1002,

Thank you for your great review. I hope you enjoyed Tomorrowland as much as your stay at the Marivaux. We are amazed by the punctuality of your minute details and we hope to welcome you back next summer or sooner.

Best regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our stay in this hotel was very pleasant and we had a really good time! The location is perfect, between two metro stations and right next to the main shopping area. The city centre is very close, just 10 minutes walking! Our room was spacious and very comfortable and all the services were of high standards. It was really good value for money and we would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a standard double room which was very spacious and comfortable. The only inconvenience was that the toilet was in a different "room" and not with the rest of the bathroom, so you needed to open two doors in order to wash your hands after using the toilet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Evanthia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Evanthia2014,

We are really glad to read your nice opinion of the Marivaux hotel as we are, indeed, always trying to keep up the high standards of our services. I hope that you got all the shopping you needed done!
Thank you for your recommendations and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews