We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #48 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ogden, UT
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here almost a week for a course I was taking in Brussels. The wifi was sorely lacking, would go in and out constantly, but otherwise, the room was comfortable. The Staff at the hotel were excellent and responsive. The location was great for what I was looking for. Breakfast was very nice, but the same every day, a little variety would have been nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSL_Donk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear RSL_Donk,

Thank you for your nice review. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable for your week in Brussels; it is essential for such a long journey.
We are constantly looking into improving our services, including our free WIFI connection and our Breakfast Buffet, I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again soon for another long stay :)

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    830
    268
    76
    36
See reviews for
248
902
126
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ladner, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Bad parts - horrible room, very small, soft bed, very dirty carpet, non existent internet.
Good parts - Bathroom average, breakfast good.
Would not recommend staying here for the high price charged.
Deserves a two star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_to_Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear 2_to_Explore,
I am sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your room but I hope you enjoyed Brussels and its busy life.
If you visit Belgium again, please do not hesitate to contact us for our promotions and to discover our Harmony rooms, with king size beds.
Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have had a pleasent stay at thuis hotel. Nice rooms and a good breakfast. The location is very good with the shopping street around the corner and the grote markt and manneke pis very close. Although it was a bit expensive it was really worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Floris D,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you appreciated the location in the city centre and I hope you enjoyed visiting Brussels. I would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Marivaux Hotel!

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We’re glad we chose Marivaux Hotel for our 4 days stay in Brussels. We took a train from the airport and from the train station, it took us 10 minutes (with suitcases in hand) to find it. Although our room’s decor was a bit dated, we love that it was spacious (including the bathroom) with generous closet. I also love that we have in-room tea/coffee facility. It was clean and quiet but the mattress was a bit hard for my back while the pillows were too soft. With many hotels cutting on bathroom essentials, Marivaux still provides shampoo, body wash, lotion, including cotton buds and shower caps. The free wi-fi was quick and fast. Based from our experience traveling in Europe, hotel air-conditioning can be a challenge and I am glad the hotel's A/C is working fine. Its convenient downtown location was a great help for first timers like us. I won’t hesitate to recommend Marivaux Hotel for people wishing to have a taste of downtown Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Lyn M,

Thank you for writing this positive and detailed review. We’re glad you chose to stay with us too! To read that an experienced traveller like yourself enjoyed the central location, spacious room and our amenities and services makes me very happy. Thank you for the recommendations you will make for us and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nothing special, but good; a fine hotel when you just need a comfortable place to stay, very central, near train and subway stations etc. Don't go here if you're looking for a romantic spot. The price was good (€ 70). Don't eat breakfast here for an extra €15, just walk out the door and pick one of Brussels' great cafés.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Harmorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Harmorama,

Thank you for reviewing the Marivaux Hotel. We are, indeed, lucky to be centrally located with public transport nearby. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, you can always give our Romantic package a try!

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Marivaux was honestly the best (and cheapest) hotel we stayed in during our 2 week trip in Europe. The staff was incredibly helpful — they gave us directions and suggestions, even told us how to use the metro kiosks.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the grand palace, or a 1-minute walk from 2 metro stations. Close enough to walk, but far enough that it's not in a very "touristy" area.

The rooms were nice — clean, air conditioned, and the wifi worked great! We even streamed a movie one night when were fighting off jet lag. Very impressed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms. Of course this is still a European hotel, so it doesn't have some of the luxuries you might find in an American hotel (i.e. king sized bed, huge rooms). But the value was absolutely unbeatable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Kelly C,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Marivaux Hotel. I am happy you enjoyed the central location and that our reception staff was able to help you with anything you needed. It is nice to read you appreciated the air-conditioned rooms and the free wifi during your stay. I hope to welcome you again soon for an unbeatable value for money!
Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for two days and the hotel is very good for a city trip to Brussels. Close to the city centre, the Grand Place and all the shops. Especially the staff was very hospitable and helpful, from lending us an umbrella to parking our car, to helping us with the luggage. The clerk even walked us to our room to see if everything was allright.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side are very noisy, because of traffic. The rooms at the back are quiet, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank arcovandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear arcovandenberg,

Thank you for your kind words. Hospitality is our biggest strength and I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope no umbrellas will be needed for your next stay in Brussels and at the Marivaux!

Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#60 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#23 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#41 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Property: Marivaux Hotel
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Brussels
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#26 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing