We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, corporate hotel”
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #54 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very well located only several minutes walk from Brussels Nord station, and about 10 minutes walk into the centre of town. The staff were almost overwhelming in their friendliness, our room was huge and clean and the breakfast (which was included in our room booking) was extensive and great quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0amify0uwantt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear r0amify0uwantt0,

Thank you for reviewing the Marivaux Hotel. I am very pleased to read that our location and services met your expectations!
We look forward to welcoming you again during your next business or leisure visit.

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very nice hotel situated within walking distance from the city center. Clean and modern rooms. Breakfast is kind of expensive (17 euro per person). We were having our breakfast in the city center beacause you get much better value there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Xen C,
Thank you for reviewing the Marivaux. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the Marivaux’ location and rooms.
I’m pleased to inform you that the breakfast price has now gone down to 15€ but, for your next stay, check out our bedroom rates with breakfast included, you might find a good deal!

Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The building is a bit of a maze and it takes some time to get orientated. I felt that the signage to the rooms could have been a little clearer but it was not a problem.

Room was small but adequate and very well appointed. The tea/coffee making facilities were welcome but the room lacked enough power outlets. I had to unplug the table lamp to boil the kettle. No big worry though.... The WiFi signal was very strong and very fast. Best I have had in a hotel for years. My room faced out onto the main street but there was no problem with noise. The bed was enormous and very comfortable.

Breakfast was OK and I agree about the small plates. There didn't seem to be any objection to second helpings so that was no real problem and I got refills for the coffee pot, no trouble.

Staff can only be described as outstanding. The desk answered all my questions about the Metro and getting to another hotel to meet a colleague, even supplying a metro map to help.

Conference facilities were comfortable, if a little cramped. The biggest issue was the lack of power outlets for laptops.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosport_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Gosport_Martin,

I would like to thank you for your review of the Marivaux after having stayed here for your meeting.
I am happy to read that you appreciated the in-room facilities, the strong WiFi signal and that you had a comfortable night. It is certainly nice to read that you describe our staff as outstanding!
We look forward to welcoming you again for another meeting or for a leisure weekend in Brussels.

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A very nice room in good condition with excellent air-conditioning. The location is very central. The breakfast was very odd. Portion control was the rule. The glasses, plates and bowls are all small. The bread was pre-cut and some of it a bit boring. The food was OK. The oddest thing was that there was nowhere to get coffee! The waiters came round with small jugs (2 cups) of coffee after you sat down. I am slow at drinking coffee so my second cup was cold. There did not seem to be any cappuccino, which is a disaster!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Charles W,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you liked the location of the Marivaux as well as your room. Next time, please do not hesitate to ask for a fresh cup of coffee, my colleagues will be happy to help in any way they can in order for you to enjoy your breakfast at your own pace.

Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel is very well located in the city of Brussels. It is a short walk to the Gare du Nord train station (from where you can get to the airport and other areas outside Brussels), a few minutes walk to 2 metro stations and about a 15 minute brisk walk to the Manneken Pis (probably the tourist site the furthest from the hotel that you are likely to visit). In between there are a large number of restaurants and shops although we found it difficult to find a nice restaurant/café to have a late breakfast in the mornings anywhere around the tourist area. Most seem to open after 10:00 or 11:00 only.

The hotel is very nice and the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had a modern room and as can be expected with a city hotel, we did not have much of a view as it looked out onto other buildings. This was not a problem at all, because as a result of this the room was very quit. The room was well equipped and clean with coffee making facilities.

This is also one hotel where we found that the free Wi-Fi in the hotel actually worked all the time.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spidertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Spidertravellers,

Thank you for your excellent comment. I am glad that you valued the central location of the Marivaux and its easy access to public transport. Next time you visit Brussels, feel free to try our own Breakfast Buffet, available well before 10am!
I am happy that you liked our friendly and helpful staff as well as your room; it is nice to read that you had a quiet night in the centre of Brussels. Also glad the free WIFI connection worked out as a plus for you at the Marivaux Hotel!

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel is very conveniently located for rail stations, tourist sites, and near the convention we attended. Price very reasonable for the quality and location. We didn't do much in the room except sleep, but it was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaryLouiseD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear MaryLouiseD2014,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sure it will be of help to other travellers visiting our hotel. I am glad to read that the location of the Marivaux gave you the opportunity to easily reach and attend your convention and that you appreciated your room and our staff.

Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel is in the centre of Brussels, and not far from the Gare du Nord Railway station. The rooms are well equipped and clean, there is coffee and tea, the Wi-Fi works well. The staff is polite and kind.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank akireko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear akireko,

I like your short and clear comment! It is nice to read that you appreciated all aspects and services of the hotel.
I hope you will stop by the Marivaux again for your next stay in Belgium’s capital city.

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.5 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#25 of 198 in Brussels
1,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brussels Bloom
NH Brussels Bloom
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#70 of 198 in Brussels
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#27 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $87 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing