We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for stay in Brussels”
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #47 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel for stay in Brussels”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights and wholly enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean, spacious and bathroom was excellent..separate bath and shower !. I read somewhere that the shower was lukewarm..and it is so! Though could never find out why. Bath was excellent however.

It is quite near to centre..10-15 mins by foot. Or 2 tram stops away.
It is steps away from Rogier metro /tram stop from where you can connect to any part of brussels
there is a convenience shop right across the street which is open till 2 am so you can buy immediate requirements !

Also it is opposite the main shopping street and near to many restaurants. !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Kasturi,
Thank you for sharing with the Tripadvisor community that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to read you appreciated the location of the hotel, your room and especially the bathroom. The Marivaux team look forward to welcoming you for next trip in Brussels.
Best regards
Megan Manin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    883
    284
    80
    38
See reviews for
261
954
143
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed four nights here on business & weekend. Guest service is very good and Hugo is at the top of the list for making sure all is well their guests. Room was very large and clean. slight signs of wear but nothing you would not see in your own home. Sort of hard to get to the room first time but once found it is easy. Remember this was a theatre in past days and the conversion to hotel is actually very creative and nice. Yes it is close to the more "colorful" part of town but I walked everywhere and had no problems. If you are into the walking it is a great place to just look at the monuments and incredible architecture that survived many wars and mother nature.
The restaurant food was very good but the service staff is a bit slow. Breakfast is the same every day an by day four, I decided to eat at the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Glenn,
A big thanks for sharing your thoughts and comments about your stay at the Marivaux! I am glad you appreciated your room, the Brasserie Meat Me and the hospitality of our staff. Hugo was indeed very happy to read your comments and thanks you. It is also nice to know you liked the conversion of the hotel as it is important for us to keep the cinema theme. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Lien Schoutteten
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This being our first rip to Brussels I decided to book the Marivaux hotel, we were allocated a very spacious room with everthing we needed-: slippers, dressinggown toiletries and also a coffee machine. The bed was very comfortable and was changed frequently as were the towels.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly. There was a good selection of food to choose from at breakfast either continental or a fry. Hotel was in an excellent location with-in walking distance to most sights and is situated between Metro'sRogier and De Broukere approx 5min walk to either one and a 10-15min walk to Gare du Nord station. Would recommend this hotel to any holiday maker that intends to travel to Brussels

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloeemma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Chloe Emma,
Thank you for recommending the Marivaux hotel! I am very pleased to read that you appreciated the room, the equipments and the friendliness of the staff. It is also great to know you liked our breakfast. We are definitely looking forward to having you over again.
Best regards
Megan Manin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at Marivaux. Our room was spacious (though unremarkable), lots of closet and shelf space, comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was modern, roomy and gleaming, with large bath and shower separate, and toilet separate from the two. We got an excellent deal online, so that may account for the perfect view of a building wall outside our window... We didn't care, since our focus was on what we could see while walking about the city. We opted for breakfast at the hotel and found it generous and of reasonable quality; the coffee was a great disappointment, though. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is a short walk from several areas of interest, including the spectacular Grand Place and a really excellent area of restaurants, brasseries, broad cobbled avenues and ancient churches. Since we had pleasant weather, we walked all the way to the Royal Palace, the parts of the city with stunning art nouveau architecture (Sablon and Avenue Louise) and the high end shops. There are almost- seedy pockets near the hotel -- which probably contributes to its reasonable prices -- but we always felt safe and did not mind. All things considered, this was great value and comfort for the price. One more thing: If you're coming by train, get off at the north Brussels station -- it's closer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabbaticalsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sally,
I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your room, the location and the staff: three important aspects! I am also very happy that you enjoyed walking to many of Brussels most popular places to see. We look forward to your next trip.
Kind regards
Megan Manin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I came to Brussels for honeymoon, except the weather, we experienced a fantastic week during the stay in the hotel Marivaux, well, i mean, everything is extremely good, firstly, they have obviously good service, all the staffs have warm smiles, secondly, the rooms are comfortable, clean, and, lovely, the restaurant in the hotel is high qualified with friendly price. omg I love this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ming c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Ming,
Congratulations on your wedding! I’m so pleased that you chose to stay at the Marivaux for your honeymoon, and that you loved everything about it.
Hopefully we’ll be able to welcome you again next year, for your first anniversary, possibly with some sunshine…
Kind Regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The title says it all. My partner had business meetings in Brussels and this was the hotel booked for him. We had a lovely large room with a king bed, full bath including separate tub and shower, and lots of storage space - literally a full wall of closet and shelf space. The room was very clean. The bed was very hard, but that is generally a matter of what one is used to rather than a negative comment. The breakfast buffet, which was included for us, was plentiful with lots of choices including scrambled eggs, sausage, and bacon, as well as the usual wonderful array of continental choices - cheeses, meats, fish, etc. The hotel is on the edge of the seedy sex district, but I felt very safe walking about the area during the day. It is very close to the Rue Neuve, and a little further to the Grand Place and other shopping/sightseeing areas, all of which were walking distance. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLKWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear NLKWinnipeg,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Marivaux. I’m glad you enjoyed the comfort and services of your room as well as the extensive breakfast buffet.
The proximity to the Rue Neuve and the Grand Place make for a safe area and the Waterstone’s bookshop across the street is also a plus for a good book to read!
We are definitely looking forwardI to have you over again 
Best regards,
Megan Manin
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamey, Niger
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is cozy, all the staff EXCELLENT, I rarely got to an hotel without remarks but every thing was handle very perfectly. The only problem is accessing your room, the hotels like a labyrinth but one in your your room, satisfaction guaranty. Keep it on !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safiatou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Safiatou,
A big thank you from all of us for your EXCELLENT review =)
The Marivaux was built in and around an old cinema and therefore some floors have a different layout. Getting to your room at the end of the hall must have been an end prize!
All the best and kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#66 of 199 in Brussels
920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#43 of 199 in Brussels
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
0.5 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#26 of 199 in Brussels
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Property: Marivaux Hotel
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Brussels
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#26 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing