We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #52 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is cozy, all the staff EXCELLENT, I rarely got to an hotel without remarks but every thing was handle very perfectly. The only problem is accessing your room, the hotels like a labyrinth but one in your your room, satisfaction guaranty. Keep it on !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safiatou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Safiatou,
A big thank you from all of us for your EXCELLENT review =)
The Marivaux was built in and around an old cinema and therefore some floors have a different layout. Getting to your room at the end of the hall must have been an end prize!
All the best and kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 2,281 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was hesitant about booking for a personal holiday in a large business hotel, but was very pleased with the outcome. We took advantage of a special offer which made our stay cheaper than it would have been at a much less luxurious B and B, but didn't encounter the irritations I have had before in big business hotels. The bedroom had a good range of lighting options, including reading lights in and out of bed, and although it was not easy to lower the heating when we went to bed (which would have required modifying a controller for which there was no instruction booklet), it was possible to open the windows instead. The washing area was elegantly designed with a great shower, everything worked, the breakfast was all one could wish for, and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Being elderly we regretted having to walk about 10 minutes to get to reasonable restaurants when not eating at the hotel's brasserie, but in other ways the location midway between two central metros is very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Ben,
Thank you for your nice comments! =) It’s great to read that the Marivaux hotel is appreciated for personal holidays with the services we provide being adequate for business as well as for leisure guests.
I’m also happy that you got the chance to eat in our Brasserie and that you were able to visit other parts of Brussels using the Metro.
Hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel in a former cinema, which is still quite movie-themed. The rooms are excellent and quiet, and the hotel has free wifi and an attached bar/restaurant: sueful when it snows! It's located near Covent Garden, and so very handy for visiting the EU (as I was): it's also only a ten-minute walk from Bruxelles Nord train station, and within striking distance of the centre of the city. The prices are very reasonable for Brussels, especially at this level of comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simoninireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Simoninirland,

Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at the Marivaux. We are very happy that you enjoyed the comfort of the room, the free wifi and the location, important aspects for business trips. It was also nice to read that you spent time in the bar/ restaurant Meat Me. We are looking forward to your next trip in the Marivaux’s hotel for business or leisure reason!
Best regards,

Megan Manin, sales manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in Marivaux Hotel between Christmas and New Year's Eve of 2012 and it was a wonderful stay. We arrived at night, with rain and cold and the staff was very kind. If you have some trouble with english or french, I'm pretty sure they will find somebody who speaks your language. The room is quite big, comfortable and very very clean. The hotel is very well located, so you can walk easily from the hotel to the Grand Place, to shopping centers, to Cathedrals and it's very close to Métro (tram) station. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuniaCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear JuniaCarolina,
I am glad to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Marivaux. Brussels during Christmas time is very pretty even with the cold and rain we can have here!
I’m also pleased that my colleagues were able to help you in your language and we look forward to your next stay 
Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very pleasant people on reception, very big and clean room. Not the best town area but very close to Metro station, around 2 minutes walk so you can easily reach town centre and all other top sight seeing places. Will highly recommend this Hotel to stay for couple of nights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vedran234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Vedran234,

Thank you for recommending the Marivaux to others. It assures us you appreciated your room and the Marivaux’ personnel during your stay!
Kind regards

Lien Schoutteten, sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were only in Brussels for one a day and night before heading off to Brugge and I would recommend this hotel to anybody planning a little trip to Brussels for a night or two. At first i was a little worried because the hotel was further out than I expected, but it was actually only a 10 minute walk from the Grand Place (one stop from Central on the metro), and on the main road so very easy to find!
The lobby of the hotel was immaculate and very modern, the staff on the reception were very friendly and helpful (we had to ask for advise on how was best to get to Brugge and they were more than happy to help us with the train time tables).
There is also a lovely big fire just to the left of the the reception desk with a huge big leather couch, which we were very grateful for after walking around in the snow!
The rooms are really the only reason why I haven't given this hotel 5*, the decor is just a little dated (sounds picky I know!) I don't usually care about how modern a hotel but it was a slight contrast to the very modern lobby and reception areas, plus our view was of the nice brick wall of the hotel's neighbors.
Still are room was very big AND clean which is all that matters really! The bathroom was very modern and clean (nice powerful hairdryer to :))
So to sum up, yes the decor of the rooms is about 15 years old but who cares! great size, very comfy (great nights sleep!) great bathroom, staff very friendly and that fire in the lobby is a massive selling point!
Just to mention, we did not get breakfast in the hotel just because we were on such a tight timescale. Also, beware of the sweets in the wardrobe, they aren't free they are part of the minibar, we found out just as i was trying to rip open the packet of very expensive chocolates!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Ceri M,
I would like to thank you for recommending the Marivaux hotel to anybody planning a trip to Brussels. It was very nice to read your detailed review and your kind words with regards to the Reception staff.
I am glad you enjoyed sitting by the fire place and appreciated the comfort of your room. If you wish to stay in one of our modern rooms or in a boulevard-view room for your next stay, you can always specify this when making your reservation.
I hope to be able to welcome you to the Marivaux again, hopefully for a sunny day this time =)
Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

So here we are for a nice weekend in Brussels, and following reviews for the hotel we decided to book. Great rate, including breakfast. Until now all good :-)

We get there, and find that the bed is actually two single beds brought together. Quick call to the reception, they claim no other room available. Can happen though.

However why is there no solution to keep the beds together. Once you start moving, you will of course slide between beds, which almost immediately part... Do I need to say more about this? Ah yes anyway the mattress is not extremely comfortable.

Next morning, shower... the shower curtain is black at its bottom, the corners between bathtub and tiles are black, and it looks like in between tiles has never been scrubbed, or at least not in the last few months/years.

And the nice carpet floor? ok-ish in the sense now stains, but hides quite a bit of dust.

So of course grumpy as we can be, at check-out, with a big smile, we tell our stories to the reception staff. They take note... no further action...

Just about the breakfast: plenty and good, but don't expect a smile or efficient help.

Room Tip: ask for a clean room ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ynop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Ynop,

I would like to thank you for your feedback, which is much appreciated and can only help improve our services.
Unfortunately not all our rooms have double beds and these are upon request and subject to availability. During your stay, the hotel was fully occupied and it was, therefore, not possible to offer you a double room.
Your comments on the cleanliness of the room have been transferred to the concerned departments and our management, and I am pleased to inform you that the shower curtain was changed.
I am however glad you had a good filling breakfast before you left and hope you enjoyed your weekend in Brussels overall.
Kind regards

Megan Manin, sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
0.5 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#26 of 199 in Brussels
1,591 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#26 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $83 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing