We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A valuable option”
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #54 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Close to the city centre (Rue Neuve - 50 m, Grand Place - 5 min walk), metro station (Rogier) in the vicinity - the location is appropriate both for turism and for business. The hotel amenities are those expected for a 4 star - the room is large, well equipped, clean; bathroom according to standards, excellent breakfast, helpful personnel, free wifi working ok - in short, good conditions for a pleasant stay.
A drawback to be mentioned is the fact that the rooms are quite noisy (thin walls, weak insonorization?!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Loan1957,

I am happy to read you had a pleasant stay in Brussels at the Marivaux Hotel and consider the hotel as a valuable option.
We have changed all streetside windows in the beginning of this year to ensure the comfort of our guests. I sincerely hope that your next stay will be quieter.
Best regards

Lien Schoutteten, sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel room is large, in addition to the two-side bed there is a desk and a small sofa. The bathroom has both the shower and the bath. The room is equipped with good wifi included in the price and a coffee machine.
The breakfast is of good quality.
The personnel is kind and professional.
The position is very good for all the activities related to place Rogier (European Commission) but it is also very close to downtown.
My room did not have any view, just facing the opposite building wall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarpietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Zarpietro,

Thank you for your detailed review. I am glad to read you liked all aspects of the Marivaux: room, wifi, breakfast, staff and our location in the centre of Brussels.
We hope you’ll visit us again on your next business trip in Brussels.
Kind Regards

Lien Schoutteten, sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very good hotel,
Excellent location,
Nice rooms,
helpful stuff,
good breakfast

Small issue with hot water and heating in the room,
but was solved very fast. Some parts needs redecoration, like the view from the window on internal side...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kresimir_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Kresimir_80,

We are glad that staying at the Marivaux proved to be a good choice for you!
Redecoration is always on the books and maybe you’ll already see some changes when you next visit…
All the best and kind regards

Megan Manin, sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. My room was HUGE but I did pay quite a bit for it. The hotel was clean and the front desk staff were very helpful. The breakfast was not much to be excited about but really that is a small complaint. Location was perfect.....I walked to everything I wanted to see.

I would stay here again without hesitation. This place was a real treat.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Pyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Pyow,

Thank you for your fantastic review! It is great to read you enjoyed your stay in one of the Marivaux’ huge harmony rooms and that you got to walk around Brussels. It is a lovely place indeed.
Looking forward to when you next visit.
Kind regards

Megan Manin, sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

4 night stay, spent first night in 3532, very small and depressing, 2 people couldn't fit in bathroom together as too small, it was very cold in Brussels -3, and in the room too so decided to change hotels, but they insisted I see another room which was indeed much better, twice the size, both room and bathroom, only a shower in first room no bath. Beds great in both rooms. In first room, no mirror in room, no net curtain on window, furniture old and dismal. Cold in 2nd room too, but there was an additional heater there which we used. Love the separate loo and bathroom, tea and coffee facilities. breakfast ok but prefer Melia hotels. Reception staff excellent. Less than 5 mins from centre, didn't notice it was a seedy area so that obviously didn't bother us. Slept really well in both rooms, nice and quiet, interior rooms both, prefer that to noiser street rooms. Well the first room had air con noise but as it's continuous that didn't bother us.
Great steak at the Brussels grill.
When we decided to change hotels we were going to NH Atlanta, we were shown a lovely room
by a charming receptionist, so perhaps go there next time, restaurant on top floor with great view of city.

Room Tip: Interior rooms nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniebee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Anniebe R,

I would like to thank you for your review and have passed on both your positive and less positive comments to my colleagues.
In this type of event, it is our standard procedure to try and offer an upgrade to a Harmony room and I am happy that you ended up staying at the Marivaux and enjoyed everything about your 2nd room!
If and when you decide to visit Brussels again, we will be happy to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Lien Schoutteten, sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

As a few have mentioned the location is very seedy. There a three sex shops/cinemas directly opposite and another two a few doors down. It is about a 10 minute walk to the grand place.

When we arrived at 3pm we were directed to a room which was smoking (I requested non smoking) the room really smelt and was very dated inside. I then asked for another room. They gave us one of the newly renovated rooms, however no word of a lie it was a box room. You could just about stand either side of the bed. And if you take one step away from the bathroom you're in the bathroom. The room was just about big enough for one person. Not two. I couldn't be bothered to change rooms again as it was getting late.
The room also had no safe even though it stated there should have been, we were on the 5th floor and the wifi didn't work that high. So if wifi plays a big part of your trip then ask for a room on a lower floor.
The staff here though were very good and attentive. Nothing was too much hassle for them.


If I was asked if I would stay here again? I'd probably decline due to the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Abbie1987,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Marivaux Hotel.
The hotel is situated on the spacious Boulevard Adolphe Max. There are both the Waterstone’s bookshop and the pedestrian Rue Neuve shopping street directly opposite the Marivaux.
I am sorry for the inconvenience with both rooms you had but I am glad to read that my colleagues were as helpful as they could be.
If you were to choose the Marivaux again, we would be very happy to have you in one of our bigger non-smoking rooms!
Kind regards,

Lien Schoutteten, sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Good:
* Comfortable bed
* Spacious bathroom, high-pressure shower
* Quiet - the second door between your room's foyer and sleeping area cuts down on hallway noise
* Friendly, diligent, and unobtrusive housecleaning staff
* Friendly and helpful front desk staff
* Free, fast wifi

Needs improvement:
* Not really anything that the hotel can do about it, but the neighbourhood is a bit seedy, opposite some sex shops and an erotic movie theatre, and around the corner from street prostitution. That said, I never felt personally endangered, and to some extent the extra "eyes on the street" may be helpful in promoting safety.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golda135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Golda135,

Thank you for your very clear review!
I am glad to read all your positive comments and take it you enjoyed your stay both at the Marivaux Hotel and in Brussels.
Your kind words with regards to the Marivaux’ staff are very much appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you next time.
Kind regards,

Megan Manin, sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.5 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#25 of 198 in Brussels
1,629 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brussels Bloom
NH Brussels Bloom
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#69 of 198 in Brussels
2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#27 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $88 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing