We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun stuff for adults and kids BUT a smelly stuffy place”
Review of Scientastic

Scientastic
Ranked #212 of 396 things to do in Brussels
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SCIENTASTIC IS TEMPORARILY CLOSED. IT IS SCHEDULED TO OPEN AGAIN ON SEPTEMBER 1ST 2013An unforgettable experience. Using light, sound, smell and touch, come and discover 80 exciting and interactive hands-on experiments, based on the themes of entertaining physics, illusions and the five senses. The experiments are even more surprising that they use very simple tools from our daily life.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun stuff for adults and kids BUT a smelly stuffy place”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This underground museum was one of the stuffiest, smelliest places I could stand being in for more than an hour.
The mirror show was great fun. I recommend this museum to make your kids curious about science.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Grietl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baudouin H, Gérant at Scientastic, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hi, thanks for your comment and your rating. I agree with you about the current smell. We will look into it and bring solutions to it for the museum itself. The Metro station however is not managed by us and its operating company, the STIB,does not clean our station properly. As they forbid us to clean it for them, we will not be in a position to improve the cleanliness of the area in front of the museum in the short term. We are sorry for this but hope that you will still continue coming and visiting us. Inside the museum, you will have a nice time.
Baudouin Hubert,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    1
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ixelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good experience for kids”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The museum is good for kids. A lot demonstrations thanks to the guides.

Helpful?
Thank Thao N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“got to be a kid at heart”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Definately not high tech,not everything worked as it should and evidently run on a low budget but passed an hour or so on a chilly day and gave us a few laughs.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank househusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We loved it!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Scientastic is a great experience if you are city breaking in Brussels with children especially on a dull, rainy day. We spent about 2 hours in there and my 7 years old loved it. They provide an handbook in English that explains the experiments. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was a little dark and was not heated well but be open minded, it is a lovely experience with children.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a great place to spend a few hours, especially in the cold and rainy days.

There are not many indoor activities for children in this area, and Scientastic is a GREAT option. My four year old asked, "Can we go back to the Super Fun Place?" My 18 month old also got in the fun and was able to enjoy some of the experiments. Scientastic is FUN for everyone.

Yes, it's underground. But it's a clean as expected with hundreds of little hands touching everything everyday. Everything was in working order, believe me, my kids had me try all of the experiments. :)

So, stop wondering, pass the fabric curtains and enter the FUN of Scientastic!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lissette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scientastic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing