We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-do in brussel ”

Noordzee Mer du Nord
Ranked #21 of 3,522 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must-do in brussel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We tried everything on the menu, delicious! Specially the kibelings and the fishsoups ! People of Brussel use to eat there on Sunday.
And the scenery is a typic place in Bruxelles, you can get some wine there. You can get some fresh cocktails a mobil shop in the middle of the place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie2-simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    656
    114
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful to get a small bite on a sunny day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Delicious small portion seafood, wonderful sunny square, great atmosphere, excellent place for a small walking lunch/brunch/snack. Very recommended (on a sunny day).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coenefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were in Brussels for 2 nights, and stopped at this little place 3 times for a snack! Our hotel was 2 minutes away, so we were lucky to find this gem. Over the course of our visits we tried the soup, calamari, croquettes, scampi and scampi in sauce. The croquettes were the stand out highlight for me - absolutely delicious and HUGE. It is all a little pricey, but definitely worth it. The stand up tables were slightly annoying, but on two occassions we shared a table with the locals, who gave us some tips for other places to go; so it's actually a really nice way of dining. Don't leave Brussels without trying this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the best seafood I've had in a while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

At first glance, it might be a bit pricey, given the informal setting of takeaway seafood, with standing tables. But don't be fooled, this is incredible seafood. The oysters were unbelievably fresh, the croquettes practically melted in your mouth with a burst of flavours, and the fresh calamari was so tender. Oh and don't get me started on the fried silverfish, not fishy at all and overall really well prepared.

The staff were so friendly, even bringing us to the display window to suggest the foods we could order. Overall an absolutely wonderful experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliverL311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Local Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very fresh and succulent seafood dishes with a deli counter for takeaways at the side. We went there at around 12pm and it was already packed with ppl in business suits in line. There are only bar tables and a counter available, no seats. Tried the shrimp scampi, sole fillet & fish soup. All were great but portions are a bit small. Everything were perfectly seasoned and prepared, highlighting on the freshness of seafood and their homemade mayonnaise is heavenly!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emmalena29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noordzee Mer du Nord also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Noordzee Mer du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing