We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet experience”
Review of Sweet Brussels

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brussels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Brussels
Ranked #38 of 209 Brussels B&B and Inns
Arnhem (The Netherlands)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sweet experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Not so long ago I was in Brussels for a week and stayed at B&B Sweet Brussels. It was definitely one of the best B&B’s I have ever visited. The room was spacious but cosy and very well equipped. Everything was clean and tidy, the bed was very good and there even was a big flat screen TV. No complaints whatsoever. The location is fine: just a short walk from the centre of the city and close to a railroad- and metro-station. The railroad track behind the building can, however, be a bit noisy, but I slept very well with ear-plugs. I really appreciate the care the hostess took to make me feel at home. My visit to Brussels was work-related and she offered to serve breakfast – which was very good by the way – earlier than usual so I could go to work in time. And one of the first things she did was making sure I could access the Wifi internet. When my wife joined me later on in the week she felt the same: a great B&B, that offered all one would expect and more, with very friendly owners. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gub_Siek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
69
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Sweet Brussels is a hidden gem in Brussels. My friend came across this B&B when we were researching for a place to stay and I am totally in love with this place. We stayed there for two nights, short but pleasant stay.

The room is brightly painted with white walls and light pink curtain, color scheme is very soothing for the eyes. Huge and comfy bed, extra pillows and clean sheets. They also have a huge bathtub for me to soak in after a long day of walking. At first I was concern of the noise during breakfast time because our room is located right beside the dining room. However, waking up the next day, there wasn't any noise at all and the heavy curtain actually blocked out the daylight so we had a good sleep!

Their breakfast was awesome too, we got a few choices for eggs such as scramble, omelet or over easy. They also serve fresh orange juice, hot chocolate, fruits platters, cheese and meat platters. Oh, and I love their coffee machine, it makes proper cappucino! Just what I need to start my day before doing my sight seeing. hahaha

The location of this B&B is also very convenient walking distance to all the attractions and they have eateries right across our room. Sophie is really helpful to welcome our arrival. She also gave us a map to show us all the places we can visit during our short stay and recommended us places to eat. On the day we are leaving, our host Sophie and Eric helped us to call for a large cab to get to the train station. While waiting for the cab, they chatted with me and my friends. Sweet Brussels really make us feel at home. Great hospitality and we will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HumbleTraveller_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

As a typical B&B of a family, Sweet Brussels may not have the convenience that a hotel has. No elevator, no credit card and a funny door we are responsible to lock. Don't be put off by this. The owner, Sophie, does everything to make your stay pleasant. I stayed in room 5 on the highest floor which has an amazing kitchen, a huge TV with all channels you would ever dreamed of and a lot of space in the simple but tastefully decorated bedroom. It is a climb to that room but I always take a break in the breakfast room on the 2nd floor having coffee or tea that Sophie provides for us for free. Breakfast is continental and basic but the ingredients are of the highest quality like freshly squeezed orange juice and homemade fruit salad. This is definitely a place for single woman traveller for the fact you would feel very safe being taken care by a nice family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morakot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our first trip to Brussels...our first few days in Europe actually. Sofie was so nice to us, opened her doors to us in the morning and let us take a nap after our long flight from states. We were in Room 2, which has a bathtub in the room and a bathroom outside in the hallway. My husband wished there was a shower, but I enjoyed watching him use the tub! The B&B is a 15 minute walk to the Grand Place and surrounding attractions. Breakfast was nice: cheese, meats, breads, and eggs or french toast cooked to order. We would definitely stay again if we ever go back to Brussels...only book earlier so my husband can have his shower!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Sweet Brussels definitely made our stay in Brussels sweet! The house is so grand yet very comfortable and inviting. Stephen checked us in and really took time to show us around the house and also orient us as to what to do and see in the city.

Our room was beautiful with vaulted ceilings and a balcony overlooking the front street. The claw foot soaking tub was a welcomed delight after walking around the city on a cold, gray day. Hot tea is available at any time and you can also purchase cold drinks.

Breakfast was delicious with cappuccino, fresh fruit, sweet breads, cheese, meats and hot eggs made to order.

We took a foot tour of Brussels our first day there and then decided to take a one hour train ride to Brugge our second day. The ride was great and Brugge was so picturesque and lovely; however, we were happy to come back to Brussels for a good night’s rest at Sweet Brussels. The next morning it was very convenient to be close to Midi-Station to catch our train to Amsterdam.

Sophie is a lovely and gracious innkeeper. We highly recommend staying at Sweet Brussels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here last week! The location was super for what I needed: a five-minute walk from Midi Station (Eurostar), a ten-minute walk from Grande Sablon, a ten-minute walk straight down the street to the Grande Place.... This part of the Avenue de Stalingrad seems to be a quiet, peaceful area of Moroccans going about their business (and NOT "menacing"--these are "aspiring" immigrants to Europe, not "the raw and hungry" of Tangiers, Fez, Ourzazate or Erfoud!!) When the many sycamore trees which line both sides of the Avenue are in leaf, it will be quite a gracious street!

Room 1, probably once one of the drawing rooms of the 1890s house, was large, spotlessly clean, light and toasty warm with "scrubbed " wooden floors, floor-to-ceiling windows, a lovely fin-de-siecle fireplace surround and that look of "stripped down elegance" so in vogue these days. The "white" bathroom had an elegant roll-top bathtub.... The balcony was a blessing (both for the view AND as a place to just throw on a coat and bedslippers, nip out and conveniently have a smoke!!) The room contained a large flat-screen TV, DVD player, etc. and some interesting books...

Breakfast was good: eggs to order (scrambled, boiled or fried), a variety of fresh breads and croissants, pastries and pain-au-chocolate, fresh orange juice, cereal etc. and a coffee machine (available at all times!). There is an "honesty bar" stocked with cold drinks, beers, various bottles of booze, etc. also available....

Sophie was both kind and accommodating in offerring me maps, information and most welcome coffee and croissants upon my arrival after my very early morning Eurostar trip from London. And the price for all of this?? 110 euros for a lovely and "artistically stylish" room, a good breakfast, a convenient "smokers' balcony", coffee and chocolates "on-tap" in a convenient location with a pleasant and accommodating "hostess" is, to my mind a real bargain, to say the least!!!!!

Room Tip: I could imagine seeing a photo of Room 1 in "The World of Interiors" magazine!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbararitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

It had been about three years since my last time here, yet the friendly service from Sophie was still there. This time I stayed in a room with a bathtub inside, very interesting take on taking a bath. Would recommend this to anybody to try. Funny enough, her children even remembered me!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctrineofGabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
#38 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels
0.0 mi away
Maison Jamaer
Maison Jamaer
#55 of 209 in Brussels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B La Maison Haute
B&B La Maison Haute
#1 of 209 in Brussels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art de Sejour
Art de Sejour
#3 of 209 in Brussels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yawn
Yawn
#2 of 209 in Brussels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Brussels

Property: Sweet Brussels
Address: Avenue de Stalingrad 78 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century townhouse located in the heart of Brussels providing stylish accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Located on a leafy large avenue, Sweet Brussels is situated between The Grand Place and Brussels South Station (Eurostar, Thallys) surrounded by various restaurants and in close proximity to theaters, cinemas, the "Sablon" Antiques area, the "Dansaert" Fashion district and the European Institutions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweet Brussels Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing