We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but food choice not up to expectations”
Review of Les Brigittines

Les Brigittines
Ranked #129 of 3,650 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $158
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, but food choice not up to expectations”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We went to Brigitinnes after browsing tripadvisor. The decor, atmosphere, service and wine were all good/very good - brasserie style, relaxed, great art nouveau interior. Maybe we hit an unlucky day, but we did find the choice of food rather limited by a) a rather high percentage of the dishes being parts/preparation I don't find appealing to eat - e.g. tripe, pigs feet, calves cheeks and TWO (out of 8 I think) main dishes being raw minced steak b) other dishes being uninteresting (standard brasserie fare, only 'boring' white fish) c) the menu offering no choice, and also being subject to a) and b). We did arrive after 21:00, which also meant my first 2 choices of starter (and at least one other) were unavailable. We defaulted to steak and frites, which were good, but not really what I go out to eat! €75/person for aperitif, entree, main course and a moderate bottle of wine.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    116
    37
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Highlight”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Having seen the recommendations on Trip Advisor we expected the best, and it was. Wonderful decor, atmosphere, food and drink. The chef is a laugh but makes a point on talking to his customers. The Maitre d' was brilliant and very helpful with recommendations. A real highlight of our stay in Brussels

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Belgian Food!!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

A superb understated restaurant with an amazing art deco interior.
This place is as good as any 1 michelin starred restaurant.
Excellent service, excellent wine list and the food divine.
I went for the steak tartare (best i have had by some distance) and the Lamb. Both prepared and cooked to perfection.
This place is suitable for couples aswell as business.
I will certainly go back again and to round off a perfect evening the chef evening came out and gave me an extra leg of lamb!! top man

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Belgian classic menu”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This restaurant reminds me of the time that we came to visit Brussels with my parents and siblings. the furniture, the service, the menu.Americain is made practically next to your table, good wines for reasonable prices.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ernest d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic food / Top Quality”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Classic dishes of top quality are served in the art nouveau interior of this cozy restaurant with a very friendly atmosfere.
The Chef did give an excellent advise for the menu as well for the wine, without being pushy.
Try the excellent classic vol au vent and for sure the "pied de cochon".
Friendly and attentive staff.
Price / quality balance : very good

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank GeneAntw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Brigittines also viewed

 
 

Been to Les Brigittines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing