We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Brussels for mussels”
Review of Le Pre Sale

Le Pre Sale
Ranked #450 of 3,651 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $47 - $78
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best place in Brussels for mussels”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went there several times. The decor is simple but subtly minimalist decorated with white tiles on the wall, immersing the visitors in Brussels brasserie atmosphere.

They serve typical Belgian meals, including the "Mussels and Fries", the favorite course of the place. the owners get the mussels from the 4 corners of the world to ensure quality mussels throughout the year.

Victim of its success, there are still a lot of people. Reservations are required. Once there, you will stay only time to eat - the next reservation waiting at the door.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tschoultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    274
    105
    56
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“makes hospital food look good”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went on a Sunday afternoon and the restaurant was doing a brisk trade. The service was terse, but forgivable given our lack of French or Flemish. We ordered the mussels in white wine and beef cheeks in beer, both proclaim 'specialties' of the house. The beef was simply some cheap cut swimming in a soup of brownish grey sludge containing more flour than anything that resembles a sauce, while the mussels in white wine were lacking, well, white wine. All this for 60 euro, shabby, don't do it to yourself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch39ghjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Moules”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Delicious moules frites, the best I know in Brussels... For the same price asked everywhere. Reservation needed!

Helpful?
Thank António Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oh ! secours !!! Run away !!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Alors là... j'ai honte de ma ville !!! Shame on that "restaurant" !!!
How is it possible ??? A fuir !

Nous y sommes allés hier soir, samedi : lamentable !
We've been overthere last night, Saturday : auwful !

Expensive, dirty (open carbage can in the middle of the kitchen, toilets... beurk !!! What a smell !!!)
Et... les moules... mauvaises, simplement et terriblement mauvaises ! Do not say to them that the food is... terrible, they do not care !

So... bad food delivered in dirty plates, no bread, expensive... and... so !

Je vis à Bruxelles, je connais Bruxelles... jamais, never again in that restaurant !

Please !
SVP !

Bruxelles offre mille meilleurs restos !!!
Brussels offers one thousand better restaurants !

Il y a 20 ans... c'était "correct", mais aujourd'hui c'est nul !
20 years ago... it was.. "O.K." but today... terrible !!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must for mussel lovers”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Great big portions of perfectly fresh mussels cooked with a choice of sauces, a pity though that we were not allowed to share between two. 24 euro includes very good frites and mayo, but still felt pricey for lunch so only 4 stars for value, although I would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pre Sale also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Pre Sale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing