We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh ! secours !!! Run away !!!”
Review of Le Pre Sale

Le Pre Sale
Ranked #480 of 3,620 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $47 - $78
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oh ! secours !!! Run away !!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Alors là... j'ai honte de ma ville !!! Shame on that "restaurant" !!!
How is it possible ??? A fuir !

Nous y sommes allés hier soir, samedi : lamentable !
We've been overthere last night, Saturday : auwful !

Expensive, dirty (open carbage can in the middle of the kitchen, toilets... beurk !!! What a smell !!!)
Et... les moules... mauvaises, simplement et terriblement mauvaises ! Do not say to them that the food is... terrible, they do not care !

So... bad food delivered in dirty plates, no bread, expensive... and... so !

Je vis à Bruxelles, je connais Bruxelles... jamais, never again in that restaurant !

Please !
SVP !

Bruxelles offre mille meilleurs restos !!!
Brussels offers one thousand better restaurants !

Il y a 20 ans... c'était "correct", mais aujourd'hui c'est nul !
20 years ago... it was.. "O.K." but today... terrible !!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    269
    105
    53
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must for mussel lovers”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Great big portions of perfectly fresh mussels cooked with a choice of sauces, a pity though that we were not allowed to share between two. 24 euro includes very good frites and mayo, but still felt pricey for lunch so only 4 stars for value, although I would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great typical restaurant mostly visited by locals and other Europeans.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

You have to avoid the "tourist trap" restaurants at Rue De Bouchers and find this restaurant for really delicious and fresh fish. The mussels are also fantastic. I understand the place used to be a butcher shop so don't expect any fancy decor. But if you like simple excellent food at reasonable prices while mingling with locals this is the place you should go! We were lucky that friends from Leuven took us here because if not we would have probably fallen for the traps!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eldia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good find”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went here for a meal with work colleagues visiting the city. it was a pleasant meal and we were all happy.

The atmosphere is nice, with the restaurant being fairly full and the service was good too. The decor is rather plain (someone said it was once a fish and chip shop!) but that didn't really matter.

I bravely ordered the horse fillet and I wasn't disappointed! It was very well-cooked and tasty. My colleagues ordered moules and rabbit in a rich beer sauce. The moules were "brilliant" and the rabbit "tender and delicious". All of the dishes are served with a bowl of frites as standard.

The final bill came to €30 per head. This included the mains, drinks and coffee at the end.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mussels in Brussels!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After tracking this restaurant down thanks to a guide book, we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was packed with locals. We arrived 10min after opening and managed to grab the last table for two, and I'm glad we did!

The staff, though not fluent in English did their best to provide a wonderful, delicious experience. We ordered Leffe Brun (a delicious beer with a caramel aftertaste - yum) and didn't have to wait long before a massive pot of steamed, plump mussels was placed in front of each of us - I ordered garlic and cream (simple is the best!), and each was accompanied with a deep bowl of salty frites (fries). We literally had to undo our belts to fit the whole meal in, it was mouth-wateringly delicious.

...so how we managed to fit in a silky creme brulee for dessert is beyond me.

I don't understand why there have been so many bad reviews as my husband and I had a fantastic experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pre Sale also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Pre Sale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing